Reviews For The Use of Magic
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Elly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/28/17 01:58 am Title: Full Circle

This was one hilariously crazy ride from start to finish!

Grinning, giggling and laughing hard pretty much constantly throughout the whole story.

Simply a fantastic piece of fun imagination.

Loved it!

Reviewer: Nowawoman Anonymous starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/24/16 08:51 pm Title: Happily ever after

Zsuzsi, That is the weirdest yet funny and lovable story I have read so far. Wonderful, thank you for a fantastic read.
Monika.

Reviewer: Jinxd Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/08/15 12:57 am Title: Happily ever after

Chapter 1 was good, but it was in chapter 2 when things got mental that the story really hit its stride, that chapter was awesome! I don't think the subsequent chapters quite managed to maintain that insane pace, but that was probably for the best, as you let things die down nicely to reach an ending that had some semblance of sanity (regrettably)

Author's Response: I reeeeeeally wanted to finish this one. I like this story. But yeah, it fought back. Didn't want to be finished at all. Chapter 5 is where you can see the strain marks the clearest, I think. But I'm really happy you like it. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Faye Kistry Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/12/13 08:34 pm Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

This is only the second story of yours that I've ever read, but I can safely say you've already cemented your place amongst my favourite writers in the genre.

I'll not wax too much about your wonderfully playful plot lines, or your Heinlein-esque characters, because the last author who's work I fell this much in love with, removed all their work from the site they were posting it to, and disappeared. I hope you'll continue to share your wonderful work for a long time to come. X

Author's Response: Flattery will get you everywhere, Faye! I've been writing TG fiction for about ten, twelve years now - and I only worked up the courage to publish them anonymously maybe a year ago. So I actually have a colossal backlog of partial stories (if by "colossal" you mean "about twenty"). The hard part is *finishing* one. I don't plan to disappear, though. I'm satisfied that my anonymity is good enough. If you were really determined and fairly smart, I think you could connect my TG writing to my actual life, but I don't think it would be at all easy. I love writing these things, and I get enough of a charge from posting them that I don't plan to stop. So thanks for the kind words, and let's hope you continue to get your fix.

Reviewer: TerraB Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/02/13 12:46 am Title: Happily ever after

This was fantastic. Good narrative. Good grasp of F/SF literature and its implications. Great resolution to an extremely interesting conflict. Among the best things I have read to date.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm thinking of polishing it up sometime when I get a little time.

Reviewer: I_Think Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/29/13 10:12 am Title: Happily ever after

That... was an extremely surprising (pleasantly!) ending. Whoa.

My only complaint is that your writing keeps making me read your stories late into the night, at which point I can no longer construct a very coherent comment describing how awesome I think the various aspects of your writing are.

Fortunately, I saw one of your replies to another review and discovered that you do in fact intend to keep writing. Yay!

Incidentally the rating/comment system seems to not be super well geared toward multi-part stories - but the site's been improving too. Anyhow. Props to an awesome story - hope your work inspires ideas (and technique of course) without taking too much time from life and awesome storytelling! :)

Author's Response: Heck, even *I* reread these stories until too late into the night. As to the ending - yeah. I didn't expect things to work out, either. Then one day in the shower, I suddenly saw the only possible way it could come out, with a close-ended time loop, and the rest basically wrote itself. The really weird thing is that Jenette essentially foreshadowed this very ending in a way in the first chapter - long before I finished the plot in my mind. How cool is that?

Reviewer: Kat1964 Signed starstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 05/29/13 01:41 am Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

Thanks for the response to MY response:) it makes sense now why your story is so well written & crafted you ARE a professional author!:)

Author's Response: Nope, just a translator. It doesn't count if you're told, word for word, what to write. Well. I guess it kind of does - I do sling words for a living...

Reviewer: Kat1964 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/27/13 08:30 pm Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

Great story! I'm really into it. Even without the sex It's a good story I'm eager to keep reading it. You seem to also to really know how to write even though you're an amateur. I hope my positive review here will inspire you to write even more creative stories in the same vein. Keep it up!

Author's Response: As I grow as an author, there seems to be less sex involved. But most of these start as fantasies that I spend too much time with, and write down to get them out of my head and into the computer where I can archive them. It's funny to me that when I manage to finish one, you can see that. There's sex at the start, then the actual story takes over. As to writing - thanks! This kind of stroking makes me smile! I read a lot and I type very fast. I'm a translator, so I type over a million words a year for a living - another 40,000 for a half-size book isn't much at all. Plus, gosh darn it, I'm just plain talented. Also very humble. But listing all my positive traits would just be lengthy and boring, so I'll stop. Seriously, I'm probably not going to stop any time soon. Every now and then I reread one of the unfinished ones and hope the Muse will take an interest. Sometimes she does - she finished this one, which surprised me quite a bit; I thought the open-ended world would doom it to inanity but I'm really very happy with the way it turned out.

Reviewer: AlexiaRose Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/25/13 03:40 am Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

interesting

Author's Response: That's the goal!

Reviewer: meredith Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 05/24/13 10:43 am Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

great story

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: ThatGuy Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/23/13 10:16 am Title: Ventilatory impact

That was like HOLY SHIT WAT but still really amazing

Author's Response: I think maybe it went a little too fast, a little too choppy. There's a fine line between dynamic action and chaos. (Then again, Michael Bay always seems to do well peddling chaos...)

Reviewer: I_Think Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/05/13 08:54 pm Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

I don't care how unfinished this is, it is downright awesome! I made a note to myself to that effect, in fact. There're so many descriptive references, and so many of them I'm not actually very familiar with and need to check out!

Maybe I'll come up with a more coherent and less "OMG OMG OMG This is the best!" comment sometime, but I think this is pretty accurate for now. :D

Author's Response: I like you.

Reviewer: ThatGuy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/18/13 10:19 am Title: Back to Last Week

This is brilliant! This is one of those stories that I just keep on reading. Epicness.

Author's Response: Amazingly, the Muse seems to have kicked in on this one again. I think I just realized not only the rest of the second chapter, but the actual end of the story. Just have to fill in the middle now. Could it be that I will have finished TWO stories?

Reviewer: ikarias Signed starstarstar Report
Date: 04/18/13 04:05 am Title: Back to Last Week

Nice.really enjoyed that. Will there be more?

Author's Response: Only after I invent plot algebra. Sigh. Honestly, there's no telling. The paying work has been intense lately and I have a thing for, you know, having money to put food on my family. And the Muse, well, she does whatever she damn well pleases. So your guess is as good as mine, except .... well, I really *like* the notion of a completely open-ended magic world, and as always, I like these characters, so I'd like to see more of them. I guess the only real answer is: I sure hope so.

Reviewer: Easy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/18/13 03:42 am Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

Zsuzsi:
Absolutely wonderful read. The sentences sparkled. The literary references were unstrained and actually explanatory.
This is a fun story. I will read Chapter 2 in the morning.
Easy

Author's Response: Thanks! "The sentences sparkled." Gawrsh.

Reviewer: AAA14 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/16/13 09:41 pm Title: An Unexpected Change in Plans

Very well written. You made it very easy to imagine the same happening to you. Also, maybe you can make her become Emma Watson with magic (Based off of chapter 1)

Author's Response: I think Violet's more focused on the books than the movies and is unlikely to care much about Emma Watson. Although you never know. She's certainly getting mileage out of Potter magic and there could well be more where that came from.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.