Reviews For The Wish
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kandijayne Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/13/14 09:01 pm Title: Chapter 1

I agree with the other reviewers; this says so much in just a few words. An excellent example of 'flash fiction'!

Author's Response: Thank you Kandi. I am grateful to those who take a moment to write down their thoughts. I come to fiction writing from journalism. Every story we write the editors send back with the notation "cut 200 words." We get pretty good at it.

Reviewer: MayCohen Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/01/13 10:02 am Title: Chapter 1

So short - and yet so deep. 10/10. Keep writing, that was delightful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I am a news writer by trade. My life has been an attempt to tell a great deal of "story" in as small a space as possible; with editors who always said, "Cut 200 words."

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/31/13 02:54 am Title: Chapter 1

How utterly sad and true. But beautiful in its own way as well. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you, so much, for taking a moment to read my story; and to review it. Your work is one of the influences which moves me to write. You have an absolutely stunning subtlety and a gift for human narrative. You tell the story of what happens "inside" your characters so well. Again, thank you.

Reviewer: Connair Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/20/13 10:40 pm Title: Chapter 1

It's definitely a beautiful work. Stark and Honest, but I still wonder if I'm willing to pay the price knowing what it is?

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It's a blessing to hear nice things, and doubly so to hear it from several authors who's work has entertained, thrilled, and touched me. I did not write this to be discouraging! Actually, I wrote it for myself, as a balm for having been among those who (unintentionally or unthinkingly) ignored this girl way back when.

Reviewer: touch the light Signed Report
Date: 03/11/13 01:41 am Title: Chapter 1

It's refreshing to read a tg story where the protagonist isn't transformed into a sex goddess - I'm as guilty as anyone on that count - but where this really stands out is the restrained anger seeping from the terse, bitter prose. Be careful what you wish for indeed.

Author's Response: I feel like making a joke here and saying that I wrote it this way to avoid having to write dialogue that I'd force myself to compre with touch the light. I'm not that fond of self-flagellation (preferring that to be done by someone else...very lightly and always lovingly). The truth is, this is not a vignette from my life. But I knew this girl. To my eternal shame I ignored her too. Not deliberately or maliciously. Our paths rarely crossed and I did not seek her out. Now I cry over it.

Reviewer: Zsuzsi Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/07/13 10:02 pm Title: Chapter 1

Harsh and excellent - fantastic minimalism.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I thought stark and spare prose might be best to make a point about what it truly means to be a girl. Though there has been great progress, it is still the case that we are told that boys are meant to achieve and girls are meant to adorn. I also thought it best to keep the narrative confined to personal pronouns. Denying her a name, I thought, would enhance my effort to make her "every girl." Or, if not every, then too many.

Reviewer: missanonymusgirl Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 03/07/13 08:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

Dawh, that was so sad :c

Author's Response: It is...satisfying..to read comments from people touched by what you've written.

Reviewer: MistyFly Signed starstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 03/07/13 03:45 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh my ... that was deep and sad. Interesting though, curious to see what you will write next.

Author's Response: Thank you for the "deep" praise. I had hoped that the reader would bring something to the table; that the reader would be able to answer the question: Is the girl truly obese/ugly as she believes or is her mother right--is it just a matter of her self-image? What I was most proud of was that I was able to say what I wanted compactly. Again, thank you.

Reviewer: Kaastosti Signed Report
Date: 03/06/13 04:10 am Title: Chapter 1

So sad :(

Author's Response: It is sad. So many girls have such a poor image of themselves. Studies have shown that most men accept/are pleased with the way they look. Most women, even the prettiest, see only what they think are flaws. I've never met a bulimic man. When the boy said he wanted to know what it was like to be a girl, he found out. He was granted both the body, and self-image, of many many many girls.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.