You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lucy Perkins Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/13/20 01:30 pm Title: Chapter 5

Another wonderful chapter. Jordie is such a wonderful person, and I am so glad that the court case went well for her.
But now, oh oh I can see trouble ahead.
Let's hope that it's not unrequited!
Lucy xxx

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/20 05:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ah, I see Roadbandit has discovered a love for Bebe, enjoy that story, i think it is probably the best story on this site, by far.
I am loving this story, interesting to see where this love interest takes us.
Lara, you are by far my favorite writer on any site, you bring your characters to life and give them souls. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Hi, Amanda, Thank you for your very kind words and support. Iím glad you are enjoying this one, too. Iíll do my best to not let you down

Reviewer: vanillathunder Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/20 03:34 pm Title: Chapter 5

And I thought the story would be over once Jordie started to figure himself out! I'm glad that it's not the end yet, though! Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: I donít know. I think Jody is still trying to figure himself out. Maybe, Iím just trying to figure myself out

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/20 12:14 pm Title: Chapter 5

Excellent chapter! And now a love interest! I love the direction you are going. But I hate you , you have me reading All about Bebe I notice that La la land and goes to Hollywood have a lot of the same chapters and Dusty Rose is in both storylines, I am at the first Bebe story now thanks for sharing. Excellent work.

Author's Response: They should not have the same chapters, but yes, I resurrected Dusty Rose in those stories. I love the Dusty Rose girls and wanted to continue their stories, but I ran out of steam. Bebe seemed like the right place to Ďdust them off.í Did you read ĎKiss Me, Biancaí first? Thatís the first part of the story.

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/20 03:32 am Title: Chapter 5

Oh my! So glad that the lawyer got denied. But what really brightens my evening is to read one of my favorite words. Twitterpated! I hope Jordie finds that her 'fawn' is one with whom she can share the rest of her life,

Author's Response: Isnít that a great word? Thank you!

Reviewer: Katherine Day Signed Report
Date: 07/06/20 08:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

Isn't this a lovely story! Sounds like Jordie is learning something about herself during the coronavirus.

Author's Response: Thank you, so much, Katherine

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed Report
Date: 07/02/20 02:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

Right back at you!

Author's Response: 😊

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/02/20 06:11 am Title: Chapter 1

Superb

Author's Response: Thank you, Andrea, for your reviews, both here and at FM. Your support means the world to me.

Reviewer: Wispy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/02/20 04:10 am Title: Chapter 4

wow...

That was a well written chapter. As someone on the spectrum and someone who can have difficulty expressing my own emotions it was an especially relatable read, especially the consideration given to her feelings towards her arms distance all business parents.

I'm glad she has family like her aunt and cousins.

Author's Response: Thank you, Wispy. Iím happy that I youíre finding Jordie relatable. I know that I certainly can relate to her. Thank you for your kind words and support.

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed Report
Date: 06/22/20 01:14 am Title: Chapter 1

I do like Gal Gadot, BTW But I hearken back to Father Knows Best, being a mid-century classic myself

Author's Response: I donít think weíre going to see Gal Gadot in a shirt dress with petticoats, either.

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/21/20 10:24 pm Title: Chapter 3

I wish... silly since it's been almost sixty years... that I could have had the support Jordie has. If course my tastes would have been toward Elinor Donahue and Janet Munro. But the sudden meeting with the lawyer? Oh my! Thanks for this beautiful story!

Author's Response: Iím a little - just a little - younger than you, but I recently watched the first few seasons of The Andy Griffith Show and Elinor Donahue was his girlfriend for a chunk of that. She was adorable. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/21/20 05:22 pm Title: Chapter 1

Robert Louis, wishing you well and good health.
Road Bandit, I agree with you, ive read Dusty Rose a number of times and I love it! Clara writes such amazing stories.
Clara, I had a feeling something happened to Jordies parents. He's probably going to end up better off anyway.

Author's Response: Hi, Amanda. I was trying to be clever and sneaky. I guess I left too many clues. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/21/20 01:47 pm Title: Chapter 3

Excellent chapter,I’m enjoying the read and storyline. I went back and started rereading Dusty Rose, I’m enjoying more on the reread! Thank you for writing your wonderful stories.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading them! I truly appreciate that.

Reviewer: robertlouis Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/12/20 05:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

Hi Clara

Another beautifully written chapter, as Jordan takes increasingly confident steps, not necessarily into girlhood, but into a defined and comfortable persona as themselves, probably for the first time. Transition is at this stage would be perhaps an over-simplification for what’s happening in this tale. Let’s see.

Years ago when I was at university I studied American history - this was at St Andrews in Scotland - and I did a special paper on the Civil War. On my own initiative I read L M Alcott’s Little Women to gain an insight into the home front in the north - there’s plenty on the massive impact in the south, as that’s where the war was largely fought.

I’ve been struck in reading your story that the close relationship of mother and sisters In the huge old house reminds me very much of that wonderful book, which I’ve never forgotten. It’s surprisingly modern in so many ways and I certainly fell in love with Jo at the time.

No change on coronavirus status, by the way. My recent blood test indicated serious anaemia, so I’m going for a chest x-ray to check lung function. It’s given me a positive psychological boost as.the medics are finally doing something constructive. It’s also obvious that they’re learning from me rather than the other way round. Hope that you and yours are still safe and well. x

Author's Response: Hi, Robert I was just mentioning your struggle with Corona to my wife and I was wondering how you were doing. I am glad that youíre feeling positive about your current treatment. What a nightmare. I pray that you are well soon. ĎLittle Womení is a staple for young people in literate families around here and reading was a requirement for everyone in my family growing up. My grandmother read my sister, cousins and me several books over and over - Little Women, The Red Badge of Courage, Robinson Crusoe, The Jungle Book and a few others. I read ĎLittle Womení for the first time with my grandmother sitting next to me correcting the words as I sounded them out. We took trips to the Alcott home in Concord, Massachusetts several times as kids and I took mine there as well. Itís a wonderful book. There is a new film version of it with Saoirse Ronan as Jo, Emma Watson as Meg, Eliza Scanlen as Beth and Florence Pugh is unbelievable as Amy. If you havenít seen it, you should! We, like Jordie, remain well, secluded in our old farm house. Thank you for thinking of us. Get well soon and stay well!!!

Reviewer: Holly Snow Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/12/20 08:27 am Title: Chapter 2

oh, this is just so cute, I love this one Clara! Can't wait for the next chapter, I always love your writing.

Author's Response: Thank you, Holly. Thatís very sweet of you to say.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/12/20 01:33 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow, Jordin has finally found the family they need.
Love your stories.

Author's Response: Thank you, Amanda Lynn! Thatís very kind of you to say.

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/11/20 09:48 pm Title: Chapter 2

They might be nudging Jordie, but between their care and his reaction, it looks as if innate nature as much as their nurture. Please let me know if I suppose too uo much?

Author's Response: Hi, Andrea. I donít think that Mary and the girls have any ulterior motives. Theyíre just helping Jordie to discover himself. So, I think that itís really his Ďnatureí that he is discovering with the help of their Ďnurturingí

Reviewer: robertlouis Signed Report
Date: 06/05/20 01:08 am Title: Chapter 1

Not another review, just a quick personal update and some good personal news for a change. We’re going to become grandparents at the end of July for the first time. Our son and his wife are due to have their first child and we are very excited! xx

Author's Response: That is wonderful news! Congratulations! Out of the darkest times comes the brightest lights.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 09:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow! I picked up on the Aspergers from the very beginning. I, too, am too old to be tested, but my daughter was and has it and we are so similar it isn't even funny. So, I can feel for Jordie. He sounds a lot like me.
Again, another good start to a good story, though I still miss Bebe.

Author's Response: Thank you, Amanda! I miss Bebe, too, but I think sheís doing ok. Thanks, again!

Reviewer: robertlouis Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 03:24 pm Title: Chapter 1

I’d read the story and was hugely impressed by the quick depth of character establishment and deceptive ease with which the narrative tone was set when I finally saw the author’s name and then I got it. Clara. I should have guessed.

Welcome back after such a short break. This is such an intriguing beginning and promises a great deal and many possibilities, as your stories usually do. Would I be right in thinking that from time to time, once your characters have established themselves, you let them set their own direction?

Just one detail. While I think that Frannie and Robbie could be late teens to early twenties, it’s hard to determine Jordan’s age. I don’t know if that’s deliberate, but I reckon he could be any teen age.

Finally, he’s somewhere on a spectrum, more likely to be Aspergers than autistic, I think. Let me tell you about a gem of a BBC drama series that’s been running for three seasons here in the UK, called The A Word. It’s set in the Lake District, has a brilliant ensemble cast, and has at its centre a seven year old boy with autism. It’s faultless. I think you’ll find it on Netflix and because of the way you write I’m sure it will appeal to you.

On another personal note I’m still struggling with coronavirus. I’m no longer in any physical danger, but the daily battles with recurring symptoms and the physical weakness are causing me all kinds of mental problems. Stay safe. Rob xxx

Author's Response: Oh, my goodness, please get well. This is such an insidious illness. I hope that you are able to put it behind you soon. Now, maybe I didnít write this into the story, but I meant to. I meant to mention that Frances was a year older than Jordie and that Robbie was a year younger. Since all of three of them were returning from college to go into quarantine, that would mean that Jordan was either a sophomore or a junior in college, so somewhere between 19 at the youngest and 21 at the oldest. Does that make sense? I have heard of ĎThe A Word,í but have not had the opportunity to watch it, but I will. Since I work in the arts, I work with a lot of people, many of them young people, who are remarkably talented and very functional, but struggle with their Aspergers issues. I am far too old to have ever been tested for such things, but I do not like being touched, have difficulty with facial recognition and often misread social cues, all markers of some of these issues. I think this may be why I am able to work with these gifted people so easily. Who knows. 1) Get well 2) Thank you for your kind and supportive words. They mean a lot to me!

Reviewer: cindy october Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 02:25 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love your writing style. I agree with jennifer, appropriate sensitivity. That is difficult to do and you do a fantastic job with character development. I hope you keep writing. Very creative.

Author's Response: Thank you, Cindy, youíre very kind. I think a lot more of us are on the spectrum than most people think.

Reviewer: Jennifer Brock Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 10:06 am Title: Chapter 1

An excellent beginning - the main character does seem to be somewhere on the spectrum, and it was handled with appropriate sensitivity.

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: Kathryn Mayhew Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 05:49 am Title: Chapter 1

I like this. Its sweet! Please continue!

Author's Response: Thank you

Reviewer: vanillathunder Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/03/20 04:37 am Title: Chapter 1

It's remarkable, you've really got a knack for doing incredible establishment of characters in a very short time. I've only just met these characters and yet I feel like I know so much about them and can't wait to see where they go from here.

Author's Response: This is one of the nicest reviews Iíve ever had. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Andrea DiMaggio Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/02/20 11:24 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'd love to be 'neatened'up. (Andrea's) not weird...she's family... Love it!!!!

Author's Response: Haha, me too. I wish my family didnít just look at me as weird, but thatís the way it is!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.