Reviews For Take a Wish
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: KFC Signed Report
Date: 07/15/20 03:58 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Ok, thanks for explaining. Now I know what the fuss is about. But seriously, "The character started out attracted only to women, then in the end was only attracted to men" is what readers like me love about such magical gender change stories. People who are uncomfortable with that have the option to go back and read the more realistic TG stories, but for people like us we don't really have other option if magical gender change authors all decide not to write such things anymore. :'( Certainly I would prefer your original thought of letting it be ambiguous, but it is your story and you do what you feel right. Sorry my long rant.

Reviewer: KFC Signed Report
Date: 07/15/20 03:33 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Re your response to my last comment. Pardon my ignorance but can you explain what you mean by "comphet vibe" I have googled the words but have no idea on how this would impact your story? Or maybe I am just stupid.

Author's Response: The character started out attracted only to women, then in the end was only attracted to men. Some readers thought she was attracted to men all along and just didn't realize it, but others felt like it was forced onto her because of magic and were uncomfortable with it. I changed a few things to make it clear that she was bi all along and didn't realize it at first.

Reviewer: KFC Signed Report
Date: 07/15/20 02:35 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Hi, you said "I've gone through and changed some of the iffy parts to make it clear that the protagonist is just discovering themselves." If you don't mind, can I know which part that you have changed? I am just starting and would prefer to know how it was originally written by the author. Thank you.

Author's Response: There are a few parts throughout the story. Like five or six chapters where I had to edit a paragraph each in order to cut out the comphet vibes that were making readers uncomfortable. That's really all. It wasn't any one major change.

Reviewer: helzblack Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/14/20 08:55 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

So did ester's orignal parents ever realize what happened? An epilogue is necesary

Author's Response: I went back and included a bit between Ester and Carla in the final chapter briefly discussing it, if that helps. Basically, they want nothing to do with her anymore.

Reviewer: Sunflower Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/14/20 03:58 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

I'm so happy for Ester! Thank you for the wonderful story.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/14/20 02:11 pm Title: Beginning of a New Life

Thank you for this story! I really enjoyed reading it. I'm happy Ester was able to find closure and build a group of true, genuine friends.

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/14/20 12:14 am Title: Beginning of a New Life

Thank you so much for this story. I don't know if I believe she wasn't trans before, I don't know too many cis guys that would just stay a girl when they get a chance to go back to who they were. However, I can't tell her what her gender journey is, only she has that right.

I really enjoyed it, it was such an emotional rollercoaster, you're just so good at making me feel so much for these characters. I'm so glad we got the chance to see it to the end. Thank you for pushing through, you give me inspiration and courage to do my own rewrite of my story. You're so cool and I hope someday to be able to write stuff as inspirational and emotional as you do. Thank you, for everything

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. That means more to me than you could realize. Please continue writing; you'll get better with more practice, and I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/10/20 10:59 pm Title: Fateful Decision

That must have been hard. And wow, the faerie let her stay? What matters though is she's happy and in a loving relationship with her family.

Thank you for this story, it can be hard making the best of a scary situation, I wonder.. if she had decided he was a boy, would they still have let him stay with April and them as a brother/son? I kinda would like to think they would have. Just as much as they let her stay as a sister/daughter

Author's Response: Yeah, they would have definitely let her stay regardless of what she chose. That's what they spent so much time trying to get her to understand up to this point.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/10/20 02:28 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

I dont know if I'm more happy for Ester or Carla!

Author's Response: Carla was originally going to be such a minor character, but I'm glad she became more important. She really did end up becoming my favorite.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed Report
Date: 07/06/20 06:12 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

War is supposed to be see. Dang spell check! I don't know how it even did that!

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/06/20 06:11 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

War!, Ester, now that you've come clean, things will finally work out for you.

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/06/20 08:58 am Title: An Old Friend

OMG I KNEW IT! Anton finally came around, good man! Also... oh dear April, a lot of apologies and crying is coming next, I can feel it. Leon is a monster and I hope they catch him, I hope Victoria curses him too, or does something to him that his family can't stop. Seems like he's pretty protected from any consequences and that's been a problem

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/06/20 07:45 am Title: All Alone

Oh my God... I knew Leon was going to do something... but wow Sue. I mean I expected it, she's perfect for him after all. However... it's understandable. You think everything is going to go back to normal but it isn't...

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/06/20 07:34 am Title: The Truth will Set you Free

Poor baby... that's so sad... She finally learned the truth... I knew it was gonna be bad

Reviewer: Cabbitgurl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/05/20 07:40 pm Title: First Date

Aaaaaaaaaaaaand he's an incel. Oh my God the things he said... that was absolutely disgusting! Definitely better off without him.

Though it's really sad how much she's pulling away from April... it's just boiling more and more inside of her, the longer she waits, the more devastating the explosion...

Reviewer: whitehawk_omega Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/05/20 06:57 pm Title: First Date

Ester's insistence on keeping everything to herself and that no one can help her and she has to do it all herself has gone from understandable to frustrating. Maybe I don't come from the same crappy background she does, but jeez, she's suffering needlessly. Then again, I can barely remember my teen years. I mostly remember being terribly awkward around boys AND girls and not really having more than one or two friends, also wanting to fit in desperately but bumbling through the whole thing.

Author's Response: Yeah, this has gone on for a chapter or two longer than it needed to. Things finally come to a head in the next chapter, but I wish I could have cut this section shorter than it ended up being.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/05/20 05:23 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Ester needs to come clean. Unless she does, she'll keep not liking herself.

Reviewer: bloodraven Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/05/20 03:53 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Enjoying the story. I hope Ester finds her groove.

Reviewer: Kathryn Mayhew Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/05/20 02:15 pm Title: First Date

I hope that Ester's life starts turning around soon, cause it's getting depressing reading about how it keeps getting worse constantly. Is there any light at the end of the tunnel?

Author's Response: There is. There's one more punch to weather before then, but it's coming.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/03/20 03:31 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

I'm beginning to not like Esther

Author's Response: That's a shame. Hopefully I can turn your opinion around on her. She's just in a tough place right now, but eventually she's going to have to deal with the consequences of her behavior.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/02/20 08:53 pm Title: Put on a Happy Face

She's bottling up her feelings more and more and more and it's going to erupt like a volcano, this is not good... poor Ester...

Reviewer: Maria Esperanza Signed Report
Date: 07/02/20 08:24 pm Title: Put on a Happy Face

Gonna be a real nasty blow up, poor Ester.

Reviewer: Maria Esperanza Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/30/20 04:14 am Title: Spiraling

Oh dear, hoping she finally comes clean and finds peace :(

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/29/20 03:32 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

as soon as she decides to tell the truth she will start doing better.

Reviewer: Alex Smyth Signed Report
Date: 06/29/20 01:36 pm Title: Spiraling

Ester should really tell April the truth. Ester thinks she is protecting April's feelings from being hurt, but lies have a way of being found out. So when April will eventually find out anyway, she will not only feel bad about her role in Ester's curse, but also feel bad that she was lied to. Carla and April's parents and April's friends I'm sure will also be upset about being lied to too. Not only that, but keeping this secret is greatly upsetting Ester. She feels she's doing the right thing, but she's only emotionally hurting the people she cares about as well as herself. I hope she eventually decides to open up to Victoria about the truth and I hope Victoria convinces Ester to be honest with April.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/29/20 05:29 am Title: Spiraling

Ester. Honey. Dear. It's okay. I know you're going through a lot.

But talk to someone. Please. You're not alone, even if you feel that way, don't try to solve everything on your own.

(P.s.: and Sue shows her real, bitchy colours. I'm not surprised, to be honest.)

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/25/20 10:19 pm Title: Like a New Person

Downward the spiral goes, this poor baby just caught up in all this mess. Her life is better, but can she really just hide from everything? Can she really just keep running away, scared of her own fate, scared of facing the truth, scared of facing... April?

Please give her a hug for me

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/25/20 08:19 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Esther should just tell Victoria whats going on. She needs to have someone to talk to.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/22/20 12:39 am Title: Retreat from the Familiar

Falling further and further down... poor girl... this is so horrible. Trying so hard not to tell April the truth... it's gonna come out sooner or later sweetie... you can't keep it from her forever. It'll eat you up inside until there's nothing left

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/18/20 10:18 am Title: Falling into Place

Damn, this is a stressful situation. How to make April take back the wish, without making her feel super guilty that she (unwittingly) did this to Ester?

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/18/20 03:15 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Ah, what a quandary! Whatever does Esther do?

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/18/20 02:04 am Title: Falling into Place

Poor Estella, I really hope she finds some peace in this. I guess she'll find out just how much does April love Ester, does she love her enough to let her go? Also Leon... that's going to be a major problem, I'm eager to see how you handle all these. I just love your voice and your style. I can't wait to see what happens.

Ugh maybe Leon will take someone's coin and turn into a cat, he's a horrible human being and needs to be taken down a notch

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/14/20 09:11 pm Title: Surrogate Parents

Admitting you have an abusive relationship with a family member is extremely hard. It took me many years to realize my uncle was just being toxic towards me. Sending me a cruel card for Xmas, which completely ruined my mood. Then always being mean to me and cruel and I had to do it. I can't even imagine how hard it would be for your own mommy and daddy.

It's hard enough just dealing with the fact my own mother told me she can't love me as much as I need, and to find a surrogate mother that can treat me like her daughter... it hurts so bad... I'm sorry to just dump this on you, I just saw a ... parallel in my life...

Author's Response: Growing up, I had a recurring fantasy of finding a surrogate mother who would take me in and give me the love and support that my own parents wouldn't. At the time, I didn't realize just how unhealthy my relationship with my parents was. So this story is somewhat cathartic for me in that regard. I get where you're coming from.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/12/20 04:50 am Title: A Girl of Two Worlds

Oh I feel this. There are plenty of things I did "before" I didn't really like, but went along with so I would fit into a group.

Reviewer: Alex Smyth Signed Report
Date: 06/12/20 03:33 am Title: Difficult Choices

I feel like I can kind of relate to Ester in the scene after the doctor leaves. I would like to become a woman, but I wouldn't want to lose everything else in my life, the good and the bad, that helped shaped me into the person I am today. Not sure if that was the meaning of that scene, but that's what I got from it.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/12/20 03:02 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Why don't I think it was April's wish that did this?
I think that, maybe, April's wish is coming true, but it was another wish that changed Esther.

Author's Response: There is other magic at play, since normally the idea of taking a wish from a fountain is regarded as a myth even in-universe.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/11/20 10:35 pm Title: A Girl of Two Worlds

April is so right, why are they mocking her about her weight. It's okay to playfully rib your friends, but body shaming, that's a bit far. I don't know maybe I'm being unfair, but I kinda agree with April right here. I love Carla but I also think April is a good sister. I wonder how she's going to react when she finds out it's technically her and Ester's fault that Ester suddenly exists.

I still am a little confused at the parents throwing her out. I thought you said it wasn't the wish, you sneaky writer you xD Love your stuff so much Quintiliantus, I really appreciate all you give us and all your hard work

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/08/20 09:18 pm Title: Difficult Choices

YIKES you weren't kidding with this title. That's so much to place on a young adult. Like... I feel so bad for her. It's so frightening to think of all that, and... finding out you can't have children. That would be DEVASTATING. Oh you poor girl... I hope you can find a way to be happy, someday at least...

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/08/20 09:12 pm Title: Helpless and Afraid

I'm also scared for Ester if her parents have been behaving like that. Poor Carla, having to deal with their abuse. I hope she can break away too, their parents sound like absolute monsters.

Jeez that boy does NOT let up. It's your own fault you're losing everything, you dingus! Stop lashing out and look in a MIRROR

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/06/20 01:52 am Title: Return to the Past

This whole wish thing, I wonder if I was right earlier on that her parents kicking her out really was part of the curse. This is a pretty interesting story, Quintilanus, you always make such thought provoking stories. Still I'm gonna go with what Ester wants at this time. if that changes, I'll change it.

God that scene with Carla was heartbreaking... it's so... so true. She's literally basically a trans girl with family who is 'struggling' to come to terms with her identity. I know it's not fair as it's a curse but I can't help but note the parallel. I really hope Carla comes around, she doesn't seem effected by the curse. SO the parents throwing her out, might actually be their personality

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/05/20 04:08 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Once you go she, you let it be.

Reviewer: Alex Smyth Signed Report
Date: 06/05/20 04:49 am Title: Return to the Past

While I would like to be supportive of Ester and her desire to be a girl, knowing that the curse is affecting her mentally makes me have an issue with that. I really feel like Ester/Eli should break the curse first and then, with a clear unaffected mind, decide what he or she wants to do from there. Maybe he would want to be guy, but a guy more in touch with his feminine side. Or maybe she would want to be a girl, but more in touch with her masculine side. Like a tomboy or something like that. Or maybe he would just want to go back to being a guy like he used to be. Or maybe she would to be a girl like she is now. Just saying, making a decision now seems a bit rash. Especially when his/her capability for free will has been compromised by the curse.

Also, knowing what we know about what the wish that the coin held, is Ester's/Eli's parents kicking her/him out part of the curse? Like did the curse compel Ester's/Eli's parents to kick her/him out so that she/he could move in with April and her family and truly become her sister.

Author's Response: I was thinking something very similar about a visual novel I was playing recently where a character was having their personality altered. As long as there's a moment where the character gets to choose with a clear and sound mind one way or the other, it's a lot easier for the audience to get on board with their decision. I'm going to try to have as much of a satisfying conclusion as possible, but there's some uncertainty to be faced before we can get to that part.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/01/20 08:42 am Title: How to be a Girl

It's so true, there isn't any right way, but it's good for her to learn the basics before trying to bend them backwards. It's just like writing, you learn the rules before you break them, or anything really.

And yeah... that part of being a girl is probably really going to suck for her. Always being looked down on, havin to always be careful because you never know who is a genuinely good guy and who is a predator. Hell I thought my fiance of almost 7 years was a nice guy and a good person. So much so that I let him abuse me again and again because I was afraid of him leaving me... just don't do that Estella... please don't...

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/29/20 11:59 pm Title: Freefalling

HELL YES! April and her friends are amazing, poor Estella though, knowing that April's wish is why this happened, but is it all of what happened? Maybe the doctor can solve this mystery once and for all.

Anton keeps trying but he did a bad thing, if he wants to be forgiven he's gotta wait till she wants to forgive him. It's his own fault what he did, now he has to face the consequences

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/29/20 11:51 pm Title: Cut Loose

This is so upsetting... Carla no... I mean it's really hard for her to process. I really hope she comes around. And good getting rid of Sue, I know it hurts to cut toxic relationships out of your life, I'm still a bit suffering from my own that lasted almost 7 years and he was abusive but I just didn't realize it.

Sue is abusive to you, move on Estella, I know it's hard but, it's for the best. I wish you luck, girl

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/27/20 09:29 am Title: A New Chapter

This was a tough chapter to read. I keep worrying it's just the curse. But I'm starting to think maybe Ester just might actually be Ester really. And maybe just didn't know she was inside El all along? Maybe I'm being too hopeful

Reviewer: gothicshark Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/27/20 08:37 am Title: A New Chapter

thank you for the chapter.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/25/20 05:48 pm Title: A Star is Born

Wow Zora's story was just teased a little here, I'm trying to think if she's a reference to a different story of yours. Also wow someone I met told me that was the wish that she took. They guessed right on the money! This is really cute but also could be scary if this isn't really Estella talking but a curse. We'l have to see next chapter

Author's Response: No, that wasn't the intention, unfortunately. But now I do kind of want to write that story. Maybe Tara's too. It would be an interesting opportunity to explore this world a little more.

Reviewer: Lizzie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/23/20 07:18 pm Title: A Star is Born

This story quickly became one of my favourites. The last chapters had really good character development. Can't wait for the next ones.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/23/20 04:21 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Ok, for once I get something right, but I don't think it's a curse anymore.
I think deep down inside it was something Eli always wanted but was unable to express in his family.
He ended up taking the coin by fate.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/23/20 08:20 am Title: A Star is Born

A-ha, I was right! :D

The big problem now is where El/Ester goes from here. They're being magically compelled right now, but I get the feeling this is helping them figuring out what they want; it'll be interesting to see what direction they take once the compulsion is removed.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/20/20 04:40 am Title: Sympathies

this chapter hit me in the soul. It's just like dysphoria, and being told you can never be who you really are. Ugh just drop her El, she doesn't care about you, she only cares about her reputation you poor naive child. Sue is toxic, she's a bad person for you, and you need to let her go. Let her go find friends that are good for her, even before this curse she was bad you just didn't see it.

This is just like when you try to tell yourself "I'll just be what they want" and it literally breaks you inside and you feel like you have to wall yourself up with a thousand magick barriers and there's literally nothing you can do but lock off everything, lock off your feelings, lock off your personality, lock off who you are...

Please give El more hugs... I'm sorry...

Author's Response: Hope your soul is okay after that beating it took. *hug*

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/20/20 03:21 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Why do I get the feeling that April put the curse on him?

Author's Response: *whistles innocently*

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/19/20 09:29 pm Title: Sympathies

Excellent chapter! The storyline is shaping up well.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/17/20 05:17 am Title: Enemies Surround

I hope that teacher eats a rotten donut and ends up sick and then steps on legos. Jerk off creep. Also yikes, what are they doing, trying to push the poor kid to Suicide or something? Like yes, let's isolate and terrorize the child who is going through something beyond terrible. I hope that teacher gets fired.

Good on April and her friends to actually be decent people.

I hope you can give El more hugs for me please!

Reviewer: gothicshark Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/17/20 01:56 am Title: Enemies Surround

In tears. This is just what it feels like to be rejected as Trans.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/16/20 03:54 pm Title: Enemies Surround

This is, no joke, stuff I've had nightmares about. They're literally treating El as if he were a trans girl transitioning in school, down to the "it's your own fault if you get harassed" spiel.

Luckily my transition went smoother, but I still feel for El. (Not in the least because this is being forced on him.)

Author's Response: Yeah, some of this stuff gets a little too real for me too, but it betters the story to have this kind of conflict so I put it in despite it making me a little uncomfortable. I don't normally like fiction that's emotionally exhausting, but there's definitely value in it sometimes.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/15/20 10:28 pm Title: Enemies Surround

Ur doing an awesome job with the storyline,I’m looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Reviewer: mynameischloe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/15/20 10:19 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

I love this! I never want it to end! I can't wait for more lol

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/15/20 09:35 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

What a nice story, but only three more chapters? I wish there were more.

Author's Response: No, three more chapters until the big reveal. Plenty more development to go.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/14/20 12:10 pm Title: A Long Day at the Mall

I think I've got it figured out. Whose wish Eli "took" from the fountain, I mean, and what that wish was. I can't wait to see if I was right.

I'm really enjoying this story!

Author's Response: Keep it secret, keep it safe. Three more chapters.

Reviewer: vanillathunder Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/13/20 12:19 am Title: A Long Day at the Mall

This is such a sweet story, I'm really excited to see how it shakes out.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/12/20 11:54 pm Title: A Long Day at the Mall

Oh El... that's awful. Carrying that huge burden on your shoulders, always worrying about those things. Oh you poor baby, if I could I'd hug you! Please give El a hug for me?

Author's Response: Can do. Hugs a plenty in this story, and El sure needs them from time to time.

Reviewer: gothicshark Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/12/20 11:24 pm Title: A Long Day at the Mall

I empathize with El greatly.

Reviewer: mynameischloe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/12/20 10:54 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

That was wonderful! I'm loving this so much! I can't wait for more! I think because you want to be as good as a parent as them, you will be. You made them after all. All those feelings and love come from you. :)

Reviewer: gothicshark Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/09/20 08:12 pm Title: Deeply Conflicted

I love this story, the mix of our world and magic, wish magic was real.

Reviewer: Literrexs Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/09/20 02:46 am Title: Deeply Conflicted

Wow, I feel the more I read the more emotionally attached I am to El. Some stories are just a-b, but this one is getting to me. Bravo.

Author's Response: That's really touching to hear. I'm glad people really feel the character, especially since as a slow burn they really need to if this story is going to be interesting. I feel like I accomplished something meaningful with this one.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/08/20 11:37 pm Title: Deeply Conflicted

This is such a sweet chapter. I have a feeling I know why the thought of kissing Sue or doing the stuff she wanted doesn't make El anything but disgusted anymore. Getting a family, and feeling comfortable with april's family. That's a bit strange, almost like he sees them as his real family. I mean that's not unusual with trauma but I'm starting to suspect it might be something more than that

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/08/20 11:37 pm Title: Deeply Conflicted

This is such a sweet chapter. I have a feeling I know why the thought of kissing Sue or doing the stuff she wanted doesn't make El anything but disgusted anymore. Getting a family, and feeling comfortable with april's family. That's a bit strange, almost like he sees them as his real family. I mean that's not unusual with trauma but I'm starting to suspect it might be something more than that

Author's Response: There's a bit more to El's relationship than is immediately obvious. It gets a bit more attention later, but suffice to say I didn't want it to be as simple as going from being solely into girls to being solely into guys. I thought there was a bit more emotional depth that could be drawn out of the situation.

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/06/20 04:06 pm Title: Spinning out of Control

Excuse me, what the fuck? It's been a BURDEN ON THE FAMILY? And they toss Eli out just like that?

Oh I want to reach through my screen and strangle those two idiot parents.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/05/20 06:41 pm Title: Turncoat

Excellent storyline, I’m enjoying the read.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/05/20 08:40 am Title: Turncoat

Oh wow, this is getting bad. And yeah I agree with Carla, I don't trust Susie. April and her family are amazing though!

Reviewer: bananapoodle Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/03/20 06:07 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

I really like this premise. Like. I REALLY like this premise. I'll be watching this story closely.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/01/20 11:02 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

@Amanda Lynn you can do it! I believe in you! If I can do it I know you can! I am cheering for you!!!!

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/01/20 05:53 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Great for you on the novel, I hope to do one on my own some day. I have two started, non tg, but not far in. They are kinda non fiction, with some fictional filler. Kinda autobiographical. I hope to finish them someday.
Good luck to you and I hope to read it some day.

Author's Response: I love autobiographical novels. I hope you get the time to finish it!

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/01/20 04:49 pm Title: Alone Against the World

Yay Carla! Kick Anton's butt, he was a creep and showed his true colors. I love Carla so much, I hope she kicks her parents butts too. Utter trash humans for dumping their son who is going through a traumatizing time, out in the rain. I am concerned how this is going to go

Reviewer: LillyLove Signed Report
Date: 05/01/20 03:44 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Not a review (though I love the story so far), just wanted to let you know the first few paragraphs until El falls asleep in the guest room were copy and pasted in the newest chapter. Great work so far!

Reviewer: Maria Esperanza Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/01/20 10:47 am Title: Alone Against the World

Well, I was clearly dead wrong earlier. I'm glad things are looking up for Eli, but wow what horrible parents.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed Report
Date: 05/01/20 08:24 am Title: Alone Against the World

Uhhh you had the beginning happen twice

Author's Response: Gah! I knew something was wrong, but I didn't realize what!

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/29/20 07:25 am Title: Spinning out of Control

I am so confused... what the hell just happened?! Anton never did this before, and Eli's parents just abandoning him like that? Is this part of the curse? It has to be, EVERYONE is acting unusual... what in the world?!

Author's Response: Once Eli learns what the curse actually is, a lot of things are going to make more sense, but so far nobody's acting entirely out of character. Even Anton had moments where he expressed doubt and didn't run to Eli's aid. And this is a pretty big blow to him that's going to be hard to cope with.

Reviewer: Astariane Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/29/20 06:57 am Title: Spinning out of Control

Harsh!

Reviewer: mynameischloe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/29/20 02:55 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Those are by far the worst parents on the face of the earth. I would have thrown my phone at the dad's face as hard as I could. I hope things work out for Eli. They are too innocent to be subjected to this hell. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Eli can be a bit of a jerk in some of these earlier chapters. He doesn't deserve what's happening to him, but I never imagined him as completely innocent; like Victoria said, this is still a learning opportunity for him. Maybe some time away from his parents will do him some good, as much as it's hurting him right now.

Reviewer: Rushica Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/29/20 02:39 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Really enjoying this story even though I don't usually like to wait so long for a transformation to take place normally. Really F'd up what the school and his parents did to him. Anton is a terrible friend as well. Don't see where the bad to good tag comes in unless it's an indication of Anton becoming an actual friend. Looking forward to more. Keep up the get work.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it. This is definitely a slower story, with more of a focus on the characters than the transformation itself. It's gonna take Eli some time to adjust to the idea of being a girl, after all.

Reviewer: Kathryn Mayhew Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/29/20 01:54 am Title: Spinning out of Control

I hope his parents die in a fire. They don't deserve to have kids.

Author's Response: They don't deserve to die in a fire, but they also didn't deserve to have kids before this based on the way their treatment of Eli and Carla screwed the two of them up.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/25/20 04:08 am Title: A Tipping Point

There really wasn't any other choice. I love the nurse though, trying to be respectful of his feelings, though she might also be being fake respectful, sometimes those can be similar, but I don't want to be that jaded anymore. I just want to think genuinely good things about people right now

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/22/20 06:23 am Title: Isolation

Oh, cripes, I feel so sorry for poor Eli. His body is changing in unwanted ways and it's upsetting him, and he doesn't even have anyone to talk to right now.

Reviewer: Maria Esperanza Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/22/20 06:15 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Y'know it'd be weird if Leon was the one to be supportive and end up with our soon to be leading lady. Hm.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/22/20 12:37 am Title: Isolation

I guess it must be really shameful or something for something liek this to happen to someone. He's trying so hard to hide what's gonna happen, what if it makes it worse? Maybe he thinks he could trip someone up or something, aka the person who actually did this. (Or creature or something, I'm not really sure of all this world's rules except for magic is common)

Reviewer: OfficiallyZoe Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/19/20 07:57 pm Title: Trusted Friends and Allies

Found out about this story, and I'm really enjoying it so far! I especially like the characters and setting (our world, but also magic is real). Looking forward to seeing how it develops!

Author's Response: Thanks! That means a lot to me, as a fan of your own work and characters.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/19/20 01:37 am Title: Trusted Friends and Allies

Oh dear.. . it just gets worse and worse. Why DID anton freeze I wonder? Also what was under his cap? Long hair? Some kind of sign that he's transforming? I'm so interested in this series, it's so fun !

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're loving it! Fortunately we're nowhere near done. This thing really spiraled out of control, but I think every chapter has an important development so hopefully later sections won't drag.

Reviewer: Sthelen Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/16/20 10:11 pm Title: Doctor of Paranormal Medicine

Ooh. This is getting interesting by the moment. I already wish to know what will happen next.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed Report
Date: 04/15/20 02:36 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Oh sorry I got confused about the Rose thing, it's not your writing's fault or anything, my bunny brain never works like other peoples so sometimes I have trouble following stuff, sorry

Author's Response: It's all cool. Mistakes happen.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/14/20 05:40 pm Title: Doctor of Paranormal Medicine

one hundred percent success rate? Looks like he about to lose that record xD So not the coin. I do so love your stories, I'm curious just what kind of mystery is this gonna be, Honestly because I read twist stories, I have three suspects, Sue, Carla and Anton. We'll have to wait and see what the truth is, sorry I love speculating xD!

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/14/20 05:32 pm Title: Boys and Girls

Oh wow! Also did they just call him Rose? And wow Anton is immune to the reality changes and able to notice it too! OMG! Also I hope that racist prick gets stomped on the groin!

Author's Response: Rose is actually a separate character; she's Tamara's girlfriend, but doesn't play a significant role in the story.

Reviewer: Celgress Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/13/20 04:49 am Title: Boys and Girls

A great story so far.

Like one of the other reviewers, I'm also shipping Anton + Eli. They are so cute already.

Author's Response: They are pretty cute, aren't they? (evil laugh here)

Reviewer: Songheart Signed Report
Date: 04/11/20 10:36 pm Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

The story is being set up very well here. I like how he didn’t just find himself at a fountain for no reason and get greedy. I like the plot so far and am itching to read more. I think you would do well to either use italics or quotation marks and something to show when he’s thinking.

Something like: “hmm... I’m pretty sure no one will notice this cami.” he thought, trying hard to convince himself that no one would see it.

You’re doing very well, and I also appreciate the use of Portuguese in place of English for endearing terms. I speak Spanish as well as English, and it’s not uncommon to see a Hispanic mother that speaks English to call her son “mijo” or her daughter “mija.”

For those that don’t know “mijo” and mija” are endearing terms combining “mi” which means “my” and “hijo” and “hija” which mean “son” and “daughter” respectively.

The Portuguese used here is “anjinho” which means “angel.”

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for the kind words. I do tend to rely on narration for the character's inner thoughts. I might take a more critical eye to that in the future. Thanks for the idea.

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/04/20 08:52 am Title: Specters

I know we're not supposed to like ship the protag this early, but like Anton + Eli would be sooo cute IMO

Reviewer: Lilchelly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/04/20 08:51 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Oh that's never a good idea, why would you steal a coin from a wishing fountain? Thinking about it is different, when I was a child I thought about it, but I never did. Now I don't even think about it. But jeeez that's a huge mistake. Also in this world magick is like not that unusual? That's interesting, I'm eager for more

Reviewer: vanillathunder Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/04/20 02:23 am Title: Make a Wish, Take a Wish

Very interesting so far, I'm intrigued to see where it goes. I always enjoy when we get to savor the changes instead of them being rapid-fire.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.