Reviews For The Valkyrie
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Nyssa Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/21/20 08:50 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Dark Valkyrie

Well, the Dark Valkyrie didn't disappoint. I just hope Loki isn't being devious, because this was a costly victory.

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/21/20 04:52 pm Title: Chapter 25 - Dark Valkyrie

Booyah!

Reviewer: Nyssa Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/20/20 09:42 am Title: Chapter 24 - The Ride of the Valkyries, part 2

Excellent chapter, thrilling action and a great set up with the Dark Valkyrie (which would be an awesome heavy metal band name).

Author's Response: Thank you! I bet Dark Valkyrie would be an awesome metal name for a band... I approve!

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/17/20 09:36 am Title: Chapter 24 - The Ride of the Valkyries, part 2

Oh shit!

Author's Response: Oh s***! Indeed!

Reviewer: Livvy Signed Report
Date: 05/16/20 10:04 pm Title: Chapter 24 - The Ride of the Valkyries, part 2

Now I hope theres away to save them.

Author's Response: I bet Siri and Sannyr hope there's a way to save them too!

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/05/20 09:38 am Title: Chapter 22 - Mission Plan

Do Asgardians have newspapers? Do they use Latin letters? I assume they do, because Sannyr was able to read. If they do, who invented them, humans or nothumans?

And I liked your description of Thor. The Marvel version doesn't really look like he could fight that well, but an absolute unit of a man would be far more realistic. And is Loki so friendly because Marvel got it all wrong and Loki is the goodest of them all? Or because he has even more mischievous plans? I guess we'll see...

Thanks for the chapter!

Author's Response: Whew! lots of questions! Asgardians use something similar but not the same as Futhark Runes, Sannyr can read them cause Valkyries have a sort of Internal "universal translator", Thor is definitely a bear of a man, and Loki is a trickster - but might not be as evil as some recent movies portray. Or he might be. He has his own motives. Loki's motivations will have more revealed in the future.

Reviewer: Nyssa Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/04/20 02:50 am Title: Chapter 21 - Promotion

Loved this chapter, great speech and it felt epic, like the scope of the story is expanding. But I really thought she was actually going to choose Hope as her name. A little too on the nose, I suppose?

Author's Response: Yeah - a little too close to reality. She does take a name that is close... But its a little less direct. Hope in Norse would be Van or Vaetta - I suppose I could have called her Vanya or Vanyal, but I didn't think of it. Thanks for the suggestion!

Reviewer: Livvy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/03/20 08:24 pm Title: Chapter 21 - Promotion

Oh I'm trying to guess how this is going to end. But I wonder how this battle is going to go. I hope to see the next update soon.

Author's Response: I hope the story's eventual ending satisifies you! There will be more tales of Jason and Siri in the future too!

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/02/20 03:13 pm Title: Chapter 20 - Find your Truth

Soo trippy, at times I literally felt I was actually dreaming reading this :D

Very well written, I assume this wasn't an easy chapter to write?

Author's Response: No - it was rather challenging to write. It was hard trying to set up scenes that revealed a truth - but I think it turned out okay!

Reviewer: Nyssa Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/02/20 11:57 am Title: Chapter 1 - Despair

I'm guessing this closer bond through Ascension is just going to be about communicating better. With all the intrigue in myths and legends, it's difficult to take Loki and Freya at their word. I certainly hope they are acting in their people's best interest, but the desires and motive of a near immortal, thousands of years old, are inscrutable at best. Great chapter, things are really starting to get exciting and Jason hasn't had a chance to breathe and gather his wits (not that I want him to, 'cause where's the fun in that?).

Author's Response: Well, when Loki (and others) are involved, Intrigue is pretty much a sure thing. As for Jason, things will be progressing faster and faster as the story moves towards its finish - there's going to be a lot of action and stuff happening in the next few chapters!

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/23/20 10:12 am Title: Chapter 18 - Rae, Herald of Loki

I wonder what Jason thought about a stranger caressing his cheeks while he wasn't in control of his body. That must be a surreal feeling.

Author's Response: That's a very good point. I bet it was pretty surreal - almost like being Siri's puppet or being paralyzed. I'll have to delve into that later and see where it leads

Reviewer: Day Dreamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/23/20 02:29 am Title: Chapter 17 - Barracks

Come on Jason, pick a name and embrace the changes! Yeah I know, it's weird and not what you wanted or expected, but come ON, look at the upsides! (grin)

Author's Response: Jason picks a name in chapter 21! I hope you can wait to find out!

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/21/20 07:23 pm Title: Chapter 17 - Barracks

Hmm... virtually immortal beings living in relatively cooped up quarters for centuries. I wonder if that causes any drama ever.

Author's Response: Have any of the pantheons of any of the gods had any drama ever? History suggests HELL YES! But really, they're not often in their quarters - Valkyries are often in the field, or enjoying the pleasures of Valhalla, or exploring the mortal worlds of Midgard and other places. There is also lots of drama, which we might touch a bit on in this story - but might not delve too deeply.

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/18/20 07:29 pm Title: Chapter 16 - Debriefing

Uh oh.

I guess one can't really know what to expect from the trickster

Author's Response: Oh - he has a plot in mind... For Loki its all about maneuvering for advantage - and if his hand chosen agent ends the war, what kind of accolades would that reap for Loki?

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/17/20 09:54 pm Title: Chapter 15 - The City of Asgard

Do valkyries have lesbians and gays? Or bisexuals? Hmm, that raises the question, how are people's rights in Asgard? Do they have racism, homophobia, etc.

Author's Response: Some of those questions will be answered soon!

Reviewer: JEMcWolf Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/16/20 09:34 pm Title: Chapter 13 - The Next Stop

I'm enjoying this story so far; keep up the good work. Hopefully one day the Krell will meet the Lords and Ladies of Asgard in a dark alley where they will meet a really bad end. ;)

Author's Response: Definitely...

Reviewer: aquerty Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/13/20 02:26 am Title: Chapter 12 - Meeting the new Valkyrie

Thanks for the new chapter, keep it up. Nice work with the updates getting out so fast.

Author's Response: Thank's Aquerty. I've been working hard at keeping up a really quick pace the last few days. Hopefully I can keep it up!

Reviewer: Livvy Signed Report
Date: 04/12/20 07:43 pm Title: Chapter 12 - Meeting the new Valkyrie

Oh she needs clothing now.

Author's Response: It's hard to fight aliens with bits flopping about, definitely.

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/11/20 09:52 pm Title: Chapter 11 - The Nuclear Option

Aww, no going back now. Though if I were in Jason's boots, I would've definitely done the same a thousand times over. No matter how shitty it makes you feel being in the wrong body, feeling shit is better than losing your loved ones.

I guess the doctors are used to this kind of stuff, or else they'd kept dad for a looot longer there, if only for their precious money $$$

Author's Response: Yeah, there was no way Jason was going to let his dad die. Its not uncommon for hospice patients to want to go home to die - that's probably what the staff thought was happening...

Reviewer: Kirri Signed Report
Date: 04/11/20 09:45 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Despair

Love the story, You have a lovely easy writing style Kathryn which helps the story flow nicely , Hopefully the next chapter will show Jace's dad make a full recovery ,Its certainly a big price to pay for someone who wasn't in any way TG.

The Krell come across as typical bullies, Not brave enough to tackle their escaped pow unless they had numbers... Not that it helped them

Its been a long time since i last heard about the Valkyries, I remember being at school and the teacher dividing the class up into Valkyries ans those slain in battle , This was played out to the background of Wagner's wonderful Ride of the Valkyries , Great fun indeed for 7 to 8 year children.

Thanks for posting, Looking forward to reading more very soon

Kirri

Reviewer: EevieBeevie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/10/20 06:44 pm Title: Chapter 10 - The Hospice

Aww, such a shitty situation. I just hope he'll get used to being a woman - dysphoria sucks bad. Hopefully dad gets better, too

Author's Response: I'd like to think the story has a happy ending... but it doesn't come without bumps and bruises - both physical and emotional - along the way.

Reviewer: IreneGamerGirl Signed Report
Date: 04/08/20 06:31 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Despair

Thanks for the info Kathryn! I only know a small bit of northern religions, and a lot of thats if from marvel haha

Author's Response: No Problem! If you decide to look into the Norse Myths, you'll find them very different from Marvel's history in the comics - and they're really cool to read too! If you're interested I could find you some titles of good books to start with. Anyway, glad to help

Reviewer: IreneGamerGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/08/20 04:14 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Despair

Love this story! I am not a expert on this but is this based on scandinavian religions?
Anyways keep up the good story, love to see more!

Author's Response: Hello Irene! This story has heavy influences from the Scandinavian religions - especially the Norse myths. Siri/Sigrid is a symbiote who is also a valkyrie - and when she bonds to a mortal host, allows them to become a Valkyrie as well. In the Scandinavian myths, Valkyries were warrior goddesses (lesser spirits than the Aesir) who chose the bravest of the slain warriors to carry to Asgard to become Einherjar in the afterlife. When they weren't fighting in the battlefield, they would often be partying along side the Einherjar in Vallhalla or Folkvangr (Half the dead went to Odin, and Half the dead went to Freya). Siri also implies that the other ancient religions of earth are based in fact and hints at other alien species and beings that were identified as gods still existing. I hope that clears it up!

Reviewer: Livvy Signed Report
Date: 04/08/20 03:28 am Title: Chapter 7 - Gravel Pit Throwdown

Nice story keep going at it

Author's Response: Thanks! Will do!

Reviewer: aquerty Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/08/20 03:05 am Title: Chapter 7 - Gravel Pit Throwdown

Hi long time no see love your new story hope you keep it up. Hope your ok with the madness of the world around us, stay safe.

Author's Response: Hi aquerty! I'm glad you love the new story! I'm a little worried about the Virus - there's a lot of people in my community that have it. I'll stay as safe as I can!

Reviewer: AlexaTiresias Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/06/20 04:41 am Title: Chapter 5 - The Bonding

I just want to start by saying that I am enjoying this story, as I have pretty much all your work (I am still waiting for you to release the rest of your Dreamer series). However, there was one thing that set off alarm bells for me, and that is in relations to a line about their faith: “Better to be a wolf of Odin than a sheep of God”. To be honest, as a Celtic Reconstructionist (albeit a solitary practitioner), I can sympathize with that kind of anti-Christian sentiment, however, you should probably know that quote is likely a paraphrasing of a quote by Fascist leader Benito Mussolini, and considering that Norse Paganism has always had more than its fair share of fascist or white supremacist members, this is kind of worrying. Perhaps I am reading too much into things, in which case feel free to tell me to shut up.
Hugs,
Alexa

P.s. A few times the main character slipped and used “Christ” as an exclamation, was that intentional.

Author's Response: Just in case you're worrying, the Aesir in this story are not fascist or racist and neither is Jason... It's a saying he uses to basically take pride in a warrior heritage, not to invoke shadows of past dictators, and he's definitely not a white supremacist. Asatru - the worship of the Norse Paganism has been co-opted by a lot of white nationalists and racists but its roots didn't have that leaning. He sometimes uses "Christ" or "Jesus" as an oath because its prevalent in the culture and its habit, just like he sometimes swears by Frig (Odin's wife) or calling on the gods in general. It's more an exclamation of stress and frustration than a prayer in the case of him muttering "Christ" or so forth.

Reviewer: Day Dreamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/04/20 09:22 pm Title: Chapter 4 - Answers

We don't all wish we had a symbiote, heck no, but if we DID have to have one, a friendly and superpowerful being sure sounds attractive. Especially if it comes with a little shapeshifting. Especially if there's a chance to make it conscious... And more happy endings possible too, after a real downer of an opening to the story. Very creative, well-presented, thanks, more please.

If the Krelnari could find and capture previous hosts, what's stopping them from doing it again now? Danger lurks -- I hope you'll expand on this angle soon.

Author's Response: The Krell have developed a process - difficult and very expensive - to strip a symbiote from its host, which usually kills the host within minutes - and severely damages the symbiote. Other than dying by violence (or by not having a host in a suitable time), symbiotes are otherwise incredibly hard to kill... The Krell do intend to recapture Siri - and if Jason has to die, well, too damn bad. ALSO - There will be few to none more chapters that are as down as chapter one - this is a story of how Jason's life gets better (with difficulty) rather than a somber, sad tale where rocks fall and everyone dies.

Reviewer: KagatoAC Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/31/20 06:46 am Title: Chapter 3 - Awakenings

A very interesting start, will track :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope it lives up to expectations!

Reviewer: Allendia Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/31/20 02:50 am Title: Chapter 3 - Awakenings

*Bounces happily with new chapter!*
Ooohhh funs! :D

Reviewer: Foundling_Fae Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/30/20 08:09 am Title: Chapter 2 - Bonding

Ooh, a promising start. I personally love the myths surrounding valkyries, so that was enough to catch my interest, but you have started this very cleanly and without extra bits of story. I am going to look forward to further updates!

Author's Response: I love the Valkyries and Norse Mythology too! I hope I don't dissapoint you!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.