Reviews For Pioneers
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sthelen Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/08/19 06:37 pm Title: Chapter 11

Love iiiiiit! Awesome story.
By the way, you used the pronoun 'she' once to refer to Carmen right in this sentence:
“So what did you ask your sister to do, exactly?” she asked. “Did you just ask her to make you a girl, or give her more specific requests?”

Author's Response: Thanks for the typo notice. I'll fix it tonight.

Reviewer: 930310 Signed starstarstar Report
Date: 11/05/19 09:58 am Title: Chapter 7

I really do not enjoy reading the parts where Meredith only gets accepted as a female because she is fertile. A lot of women can't have children for various reasons but that doesn't make them less female. Sure, most transsexual women would love to have this happen to them but it won't.. The first transsexual woman who will give birth has probably already been born but it won't be because she has all the internal parts but rather because medicine has come close enough to transplant an uterus into her.
I just get a bit sad when reading about this sort of wish fulfillment and realizing that it will never happen to me.

Author's Response: Yes, it sucks that a lot of people accept Meredith only because she has periods, etc. But thinking through the scenario, that seemed likely to me: that a lot of people would accept her on those grounds who wouldn't accept her, or wouldn't do so as quickly and readily, if she were transitioning the old-fashioned way.

Reviewer: keepera Signed Report
Date: 10/28/19 01:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

A unique plot with challenging dynamics. Well written. Looking forward to next chapter. Thanks.

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/25/19 10:58 pm Title: Chapter 9

I loved this chapter. Your discriptions were great.

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/17/19 04:34 pm Title: Chapter 8

Looks like Mom is ready to give in, and the visit to the gynecologist should settle it. If Meredith is willing to tolerate periods and pelvic exams to be a girl, do they really think making her wear boy clothes is going to change her mind?

Once she's allowed to present unambiguously as a girl, won't that drive a wedge between her and Andrew and (especially) his friends? Those lunchtime convos with Wyatt just seem more and more awkward.

Joseph has something on his mind, but what? Guess we'll have to wait until next Sunday at least to find out.

Sophia lives up to her name - hope she gets to finish her research soon!

Reviewer: Day Dreamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/13/19 03:06 am Title: Chapter 1

Really loving this exploration of the "early days of Venn machines," telling us more about how they appeared and were figured out. Plus of course the TG desire and experience you're relating so well about the main character. I hope you keep going so we can see how it works out -- including is she doomed to revert in three years? Can go again? And I'd like it if you'd detour a little into other people also having TG conversions and experiences.

Author's Response: More trans characters will be introduced in later chapters, and there will be a sequel, which I've already written almost 32,000 words of. It's too early to say what character the sequel will focus on, but it's no spoiler to say that someone who does, say, a three-year change and wants to make it last longer doesn't have to let it wear off first before they can transform again. They could use the machine any time before the three years expire to reset their timeout. For more information on how the machines work, see the writers's guidelines ( https://www.deviantart.com/dkfenger/art/Trust-Machines-Writers-Guide-447621892 ) and the /r/vennmachines FAQ ( https://www.deviantart.com/dkfenger/art/r-vennmachines-FAQ-v18-813841752 ), the latter of which tells you what is known to people in-universe as of about a year after the first machines appear. There is a lot more information about fiddly details in the comment threads on those documents.

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/10/19 03:03 pm Title: Chapter 7

Our little romantic triangle is getting complicated! But at least Emilia doesn't have access to the machine either, so they're on an even playing field on that score.

The machine won't accept most 16-year-olds, but it did accept Sophia, who's even younger? Interesting...

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/01/19 01:42 pm Title: Chapter 6

Monday mornings must be quite a spectacle, seeing who used the machine and what new twists they came up with!

Might have been prudent to pick up a box of tampons while they were at Walmart....

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed Report
Date: 10/01/19 04:30 am Title: Chapter 6

Some people just cannot accept that everyone is different. I really wish people could live and let live.
Loving your story.

Reviewer: DerbyGhost Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/30/19 06:19 pm Title: Chapter 6

This chapter 100% gives me flashbacks to my Presbyterian teenage years. If I never hear "Here I am to Worship" again, I will be a happy woman.

Like always, this is a really enjoyable chapter. Every time I think the mom is worn down a little bit and is going to accept Meredith, she pulls out more "facts I learned on the internet." Thank you for writing it!

Reviewer: Kathryn Mayhew Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/30/19 01:54 pm Title: Chapter 6

I have a question of frightening proportions - can people be forced into venn machines, and changed forcibly by other people, against their will? I don't think that question has been mentioned yet - I'm scared Meredith's parents might try that and that would be awful.

Author's Response: dkfenger replied to a similar question on the Trust Machines group on DA. Briefly, the machines don't detect or care that someone is forced in unwillingly. https://www.deviantart.com/comments/4/30472334/4776669493 "The victim might have good reflexes, and out-draw whoever's supposed to change them... Another reason it's a bad idea hasn't been revealed yet. Enough stories of arrests for trying to force people into the Venn Machine, and it'll become seen less as a prank and more as assault. Not that stupid stuff won't still happen - you can get someone drunk enough that Venning seems like a good idea, but not so drunk the machine punts them."

Reviewer: Taxouck Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/28/19 07:06 am Title: Chapter 5

Wear these idiots down. Let's hope for a positive counselor that throws that shitty plan back into the parents's faces. In this story we respect trans girls!

Reviewer: helzblack Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/24/19 08:30 pm Title: Chapter 1

Let her escape. Let her get away from them. Parents like that should not be parents. I would really prefer that she goes away instead of staying and trying to change their minds. Bigots never change

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/23/19 08:42 pm Title: Chapter 5

If the parents are going to insist on her wearing boy clothes, why not borrow one of Caleb's t-shirts? She could cinch the waist and wear it like a mini-dress.

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/12/19 02:18 pm Title: Chapter 3

I would think most parents would react to something like this the way they would react to their kids' taking LSD or something, so Meredith should be thankful for the reaction she got.

As for school, it might be rough at first, but she's probably not alone in having used the machine to change gender, or won't be for long.

Reviewer: Taxouck Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/11/19 09:51 am Title: Chapter 3

Well fuck these parents. I hope the next chapter is gonna be something more wholesome...

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/11/19 05:00 am Title: Chapter 1

Very nice story, not at all what I was thinking it was going to ben

Reviewer: Emmie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/29/19 03:32 pm Title: Chapter 1

Great start! Always love it when a trans protagonist gets a chance to work out her identity.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.