Reviews For Brimstone
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: blake1 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/18/19 11:26 am Title: Chango

Listen, Cassie, I didn't come here to read a story about somebody feeling trapped and victimised by their own disgusting body. I came here to read a story about a closeted trans girl. Oh, wait. I get it now.

Honestly girl you are slaying with the metaphors. Queer people being called "Demons", followed by the revelation that actually Demons are actually totally nice and have just been victimised unfairly by society because of bigotry. Sarah being tormented by a voice in her head telling her that she's trans, and, again, learning that this voice is not the enemy. This shit's deep! And relatable!

Also that fight scene was really scary and visceral and gross. Genuinely couldn't handle it, I had to take a break for a bit haha.

The one thing I struggle with is when Lucy speaks in Scarlet's head. Might be a little easier to read if you used italics instead of 's? Dunno. Anyway keep it up!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you've been liking the story so far! I'm really glad that all the stuff I was trying to get out there is landing~ I felt like I was fumbling a bit with the different things everything was meant to communicate, so I'm very happy to hear that you're enjoying it c: As for the one thing, I do know that it's difficult to tell at a glance when it's Lucy speaking. My original plan was to have all her thoughts come out bold or in italics or somethin'. What made me go with this however is that I wanted Scarlett to have to actively focus on when her thoughts are hers and when they're Lucy's, and struggle with her thoughts basically being interrupted at any time mid flow. I figured treating the narration as if they're Scarlett's thoughts that Lucy could show in at any time instead of treating her dialog with the same rules as other characters would help get that across. It may end up being a mistake down the line but, like, hey! If it is I can always just go ahead and re-do it later~ Nothing on the internet is permanent :v

Reviewer: Nichola Sperry Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/15/19 09:52 pm Title: Shrivel Up

Terrifying... love it.

Reviewer: blake1 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/09/19 12:07 am Title: S.I.B. (Swelling Itching Brain)

girl you have hooked me with this Dusk Til Dawn shit, love a twist, love a story with more going on then you expect

Reviewer: blake1 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/09/19 12:01 am Title: Praying Hands

....excuse me?

Reviewer: blake1 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/08/19 12:05 pm Title: Gut Feeling / (Slap Your Mammy)

Oh my god when you referenced all those tg webcomics I almost screamed. The Wotch! Abstract Gender! Valkyrie Yuuki! Misfile, which I kept reading for ages despite having zero interest in cars! Fricken El Goonish Shive! I had totally buried those in my memory. I feel so called out.

Reviewer: Lady Yuki Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/12/19 12:24 am Title: S.I.B. (Swelling Itching Brain)

How in the world did I miss this update? I cannot wait for this one to continue!

Reviewer: NovaShoujo Signed Report
Date: 09/05/19 01:43 am Title: S.I.B. (Swelling Itching Brain)

Well that escalated quickly. I'm a bit concerned about homophobic mum calling queer people demons, and then having a queer person literally summoning demons.

Reviewer: Katie-the-Angel-Witch Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/17/19 08:05 pm Title: S.I.B. (Swelling Itching Brain)

The body wants it's other half I'm guessing.

Reviewer: Lailaluvs00 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/07/19 05:02 am Title: Praying Hands

Wow, such an Interesting approach. I'm hooked!

Reviewer: Lady Yuki Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/07/19 04:16 am Title: Praying Hands

I was interested in this story before. The development of the characters feels genuine and I am relating to them in a way that makes their struggle impact me emotionally. The discovery of Scarlet was a beautiful moment, the kiss made me cheer, and the scene with Scarlet's mother was nothing short of gutwrenching.

After the end of this chapter however, I'm REALLY interested. I must have more of this story because I need to know what the hell is going on.

Reviewer: Katie-the-Angel-Witch Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/05/19 11:19 am Title: Praying Hands

Name chosen after finally seeing yourself in the mirror, then combined with being kicked out by parents and completely cut off, followed by seeing your friend doing a weird demonic ritual that makes me concerned about the specific cut she did (like is it the caesarian cut I'm imagining or something else?), finally explaining the name of the story by including a demonic power?
Now I'm wondering if Sarah transitioned using demon magic instead of HRT.

Reviewer: Emitsun Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/20/19 07:00 am Title: Smart Patrol / Mr. DNA

This story is so great so far, Cassie!

Can't wait for the next chapter :)

Such ewwwy parents though. grrrr >:(

Reviewer: Katie-the-Angel-Witch Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/19/19 04:55 pm Title: Smart Patrol / Mr. DNA

Well that's a big massive thinking emoji on the chapter title, specifically the Mr-DNA part. God his Gothic Lolita series is just a delight to read. And so was this chapter! I really like Sarah slowly helping Lia figure stuff out. But also fuuuuuuck Lia's parents big time.

Author's Response: I know he at least has good taste in music! ;v

Reviewer: Wispy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/17/19 07:15 am Title: Gut Feeling / (Slap Your Mammy)

yup this story is amazing keep it up!

Reviewer: Wispy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/17/19 07:11 am Title: Girl U Want

Holy fuck this chapter, the feeling the emotions, I am shell shocked. Amazing -(Tr)Ashlyn

Reviewer: Katie-the-Angel-Witch Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/16/19 06:26 pm Title: Gut Feeling / (Slap Your Mammy)

Gosh this chapter just a delight but also very concerning over parents. Thank you for it Cassie! Als god after mentioning the fucking COGIATI I thought the chat room would be "Laura's Playground" or something like that.

Author's Response: I had half a mind to do that one too :v Or maybe Susan's Place~

Reviewer: Katie-the-Angel-Witch Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/15/19 08:38 pm Title: Girl U Want

There is a lovely panel in Portside Stories, where upon leaving Alex's room Nat goes "You can do that?!"
You captured that energy and that feeling into text perfectly. And I cannot wait to read more.

Reviewer: Taxouck Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/15/19 06:30 pm Title: Girl U Want

Aye, this is a good start. I'm seeing the good to bad tag and that's making me wonder where this story is going.
There's a few grammatical mistakes, like missing line breaks when the speaking character changes, but nothing that won't get corrected with a pinch of feedback~

Reviewer: Pomegranate Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/15/19 04:07 am Title: Girl U Want

I love the content, the dialogue is nice, the pacing feels right, my only issue is the problem's with the apostrophes and quotes. If not for those, I'd have given a full five. Also, I really want to read more of this! Please post more once you have it! Thank you for the good story!

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/13/19 11:52 pm Title: Girl U Want

Welp, Liam's shell just got cracked wide open. And it really do be like that, sometimes.

Looking forward to seeing more!

Reviewer: Diana Ookawa Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/19 06:53 am Title: Girl U Want

I really love it! Liam is such a dork, but understandable when he grew up like he did. :3
Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Sunset Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/19 05:27 am Title: Girl U Want

This is pretty fun so far! And somehow I get the idea that Liam is an egg :)

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.