You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Trismegistus Shandy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/18/19 01:50 pm Title: Tiresias the Seer

Thank you for this compilation and the scholarship you've put into it. You've briefly mentioned the myths of Iphis and Caeneus, but maybe at some point you could include the passages from the Metamorphoses telling their stories in full, and that of Hermaphroditus and Salmacis.

Another interesting ancient TG story is found in Richard Burton's _Vikram and the Vampire_, a translation/retelling of several old Indian myths and stories. It's at Project Gutenberg; if I remember right (it's around fifteen or twenty years since I read it), the TG story is the last one in the book, and involves a young man using magic pills to temporarily tun into a girl to get the opportunity to have unchaperoned time with the girl he's in love with.

Author's Response: I've definitely got a "Metamorphoses Week" planned to just read through the entire work and compile those stories. Thanks for the story recommendation, the Indian transformation myths I've found have been some of the most interesting reads so far.

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/16/19 10:06 pm Title: Leucippos (and Sipriotes, kind of)

You're doing a fantastic job compiling all these myths- keep it up!

(Also, if you need tips on where to go to next, I know there are definitely a few more in the Buddhist canon, the Pali canon especially - http://sfonline.barnard.edu/queer-religion/changing-sex-or-changing-gender-in-pali-buddhist-literature/ )

Author's Response: Ooooh, thanks for the link! I have a few more in mind from Greek, Norse and Hindu myths, but it's always exciting to find more of these stories in other cultures.

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/27/19 01:19 am Title: Queen Cudala

I know it's a short one, but I hope you include Sipriotes in the future!

Author's Response: I'm working on finding a good translation for it as I type!

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/25/19 04:30 am Title: Tiresias the Seer

Talk about old-school!

(Also, regarding the argument amongst the gods- well, Tiresias wasn't wrong...)

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/24/19 05:30 pm Title: Tiresias the Seer

I love Greek mythology. Thanks for the lesson!

Author's Response: I'm happy to share! If you enjoyed this, Ovid's Metamorphoses is full of other transformations (as you might guess from the title). I have to warn you, some are a bit disturbing, but overall it's a fascinating read.

Reviewer: Kepli Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/24/19 04:19 pm Title: Tiresias the Seer

this is really cool

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm going to start looking around for more stories like this one - hopefully it can become a series!

Reviewer: Taxouck Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/24/19 10:44 am Title: Tiresias the Seer

See people in antique times were writing the same kind of self-indulgent shit we do today and some people still manage to claim being trans is a new phenomenon... lol
Important piece of history, glad to have read it.

Author's Response: It really does remind me of some of the stories on this site, just in short form

Reviewer: AlexaTiresias Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/24/19 06:28 am Title: Tiresias the Seer

I am pleased that others on this website are familiar with the classics. Thank you for sharing the story; while I (as you can probably tell from my username) have read it, I am sure there were those who haven’t. I will say that it loses a bit in the translation, but that is to be expected. Hugs, AlexaTiresias.

Author's Response: I'm still not 100% sold on the translation either, but it'll do. Glad you enjoyed!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.