Reviews For The Strategic Fit
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ZZChromosome Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/06/19 07:53 am Title: Chapter 3: Gregory Dobson, I Presume

OK, main character is sort of a butt. This will be interesting.

Reviewer: Trismegistus Shandy Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/28/18 09:01 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

This was a really good story with an antiheroic protagonist who gradually and naturally becomes more sympathetic over the course of the story. Thank you.

Author's Response: oh my, thank you so much, Trismegistus Shandy! i'm so very flattered! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: xexter Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/14/18 07:38 pm Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

Really enjoyed the story, I just re-read it the second time. Very well written and the plot kept me coming back for more.

The only issue that I have is the end. I'm not sure why Paul and 'Mom' switched since they both seemed moderately satisfied with their lives.

Author's Response: glad you enjoyed things, xexter! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Stephe2006 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/27/18 11:16 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Love the ending. Look forward to your next story.

Author's Response: thank you, Stephe2006! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Sherlykaru Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/27/18 10:11 pm Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

Been following this story since day 1 and wow, while i was thinking they wouldn't switch back i didn't though it was all the mother and daughter's fault actually, they just can't seem to get out of troubles like.. every year? X3
I liked the ending, was kinda hilarious, and honestly if i was in his place i wouldn't ask why they didn't included me, after having that much time to adjust to your new body and getting along, then taking a gamble to another posibility sounds, so hard X3
Great story, love how Greg progresses through the story

Author's Response: thank you so much, Sherlykaru. i'm quite frankly exhausted after writing this, so i'm happy people stuck with it and enjoyed the ending. xo. charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/21/18 10:21 pm Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

I really liked this story. You're character development was great. The pacing was fun and the situations, the monologues, and the dialogues . . . Bravo! The ending was perfect, although the set up for another story was unexpected. Again, well done.

Author's Response: i think i mentioned this elsewhere but if (big if) i go through with a 'sequel' it would almost certainly be told from the POV of someone who wound up getting a female to male swap. so in this instance it could be Original Gretchen (who is now Paul) or Original Kennedy (who is now Greg). Original Greg (these sound like brands of cola) would still be in the story, but far less, one assumes. thanks for all the compliments, Zapper! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed Report
Date: 11/20/18 04:58 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Thank you for a great story. And really beyond just the story, your writing ability itself is extremely good, and transcends this story. So looking forward to whatever future story you may write!

Author's Response: you are so welcome, ubougie! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Faye Kistry Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/20/18 12:57 pm Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

A great story with an equally great ending. Thank you!

Author's Response: Faye, you are very welcome!! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Robyn Hoode Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/20/18 11:39 am Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

Loved the writing. Loved the ending, too. What now? I hope to find out because it's fun as well as intelligent.

Thanks

R

Author's Response: thanks, Robyn. btw, the swedish popstar who has your same first name is tremendous. thought i'd point that out for some reason. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/20/18 11:22 am Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

Ok, so if I got this right:
Gretchen is in Paul's body.
Paul is in Gretchen's body.
Kennedy is in Greg's body.
And Greg is still in Kennedy's body.

Well, looks like you made a believer out of Paul.
But is Kennedy really suited to do Greg's job?
And can Paul and Kennedy be boyfriend - girlfriend as well as mother - daughter?
I can see a sequel.
Hell, this could be a sitcom on Netflix.

Thank you for writing such an epic tale. I can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: welllll i might go in a different direction with any (potential) story i plan on uploading here next. leave these folks on the back burner to stew awhile. but yes, you have it correct. greg is still kennedy. gretchen moved to paul. kennedy is now greg and paul, newly wrapped up into all of this madness, is the new gretchen. in other words if 'was once paul' still wanted to be with 'actually born kennedy', they now totally could. things are still a bit dicey for 'new' kennedy's love life, at least in terms of 'going back' to paul, as that's still gretchen over there. thank you for reading, elron. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: xexter Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/20/18 08:56 am Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

Great story. My only issue was that the end felt a little rushed and contrived. Still 5 stars, though.

Author's Response: ...but rushed and contrived endings are my strong suit tho! thank you for reading, xexter! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed Report
Date: 11/20/18 05:10 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

I loved the story, little hard to follow at times as didn't know who was who sometimes, but liked it.
Looking foward to a sequal.

Author's Response: probably just bad writing on my part that had you confused. glad you liked it anyways. we'll see about a sequel. i need a break! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/20/18 03:16 am Title: Chapter 24: And This Time, Without Me

I normaly keep it to one review per story but, oh my god!
To be honest I'm not sure i would dare to read it if there ever was a sequel:D
That is one messed up family by now, fitting ending to the story though:)

Author's Response: whoa, i got an 'oh my god!' review! *hangs up writing pen* *rides off into the writing sunset* (thanks for reading, Elly!) xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/17/18 02:51 pm Title: Chapter 23: And Then He Leaves

It was a little unexpected for Greg to tell Paul about the swap. Touching bits of emotion and internal conflict.

Author's Response: and now it's all over. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Idolmindswander Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/15/18 10:54 pm Title: Chapter 23: And Then He Leaves

OMFG, this chapter had me LMFAO. It sounded like (and I visualized) a Monty Python sketch. I pictured (the ever deadpan) John Clease as Paul and Kennedy was a very confused, very buxom Alan Harper (2 1/2 Men) complete with lactation stains on his/her shirt.

Actually, I think the basic premise of this story would make a great sitcom! Fine piece of writing. 👍👍

Author's Response: *stuffed shirt voice* how DARE you liken my highbrow work to a... a... a *sitcom*?! of course i'm totally kidding. i'm super flattered you are inspired to picture actual mega-talents 'reading' my silly story. and a 'two thumbs up' emoji? are you sure you don't mean for this comment on a different story altogether? xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/15/18 05:35 am Title: Chapter 23: And Then He Leaves

I also agree that Paul deserved to know the truth, but it would have been better to have Gretchen's body present as well, ideally all 3 swappers, to explain things to Paul. Maybe there would have been a better outcome.
Darn, there's that hopeless romantic again.

Author's Response: :-( xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/15/18 05:18 am Title: Chapter 23: And Then He Leaves

My heart dropped into my shoes when I saw the word 'penultimate'.
Please find some way to continue this story. There are so many places to explore, so much left to tell. Just Greg's day - to - day with Lily could stretch out many chapters.
And then there's Paul. Maybe he will calm down a little. I suppose it is too much to hope that he could eventually accept Greg in Kennedy's body, but he does have a place in all their lives.
Yeah, I'm a sucker for happy endings.
So please consider that if Greg has Kennedy's body's feelings for Paul, Kennedy probably does not. So maybe it is possible for Greg and Paul...
Thanks again for writing one hell of a story.

Author's Response: you are, of course, welcome. and i am brainstorming more chapters. as i've said in other comments, i don't think there is an entire, standalone separate other story to write, but I might append various epilogues, if interesting ideas capture my attention. so keep this favorited. you never know when it might get some more material. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elly Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/15/18 04:33 am Title: Chapter 23: And Then He Leaves

This story is pretty harsh but also beautiful, couldnt put it down for a second. Wish it was longer but can understand why you want to stop now, looking forward to the last chapter!

Author's Response: hi, Elly! 'harsh but also beautiful' might be the greatest compliment i've ever received. given the interest in the story there might be material added at a later date, but it would 'officially' be extra, as i really do view all of this, and the final chapter to come, as it's own thing. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/11/18 08:46 am Title: Chapter 22: Sizing Each Other Up

It is nice to see Greg taking on the responsibility of feeding Lilly. He could have refused to do anything after she was born. I hope he continues to bond with her.

Author's Response: i hope so, too! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: WishfulThinking Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/11/18 03:33 am Title: Chapter 22: Sizing Each Other Up

Greg doesn't exactly have the best support system. With all those hormones, and all the previous negativity I'm wondering if postpartum depression is going to hit...
Enjoyable read, I'm just wondering where this all can end, like where do character arcs end? Where does the story reach a natural conclusion?

Author's Response: glad you are enjoying the read and sorry in advance for when i inevitably bungle the ending. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/07/18 01:07 pm Title: Chapter 22: Sizing Each Other Up

Interesting set of dilemmas. What will Greg do? Keep the baby? Go after the "boyfriend"? Go back to college? What choices will she make and what direction will she choose, because in a very real way, she's starting life over and she has a whole set of life experiences to draw from.

Author's Response: let's see if i can answer your questions here. in order. a) something! b) maybe? c) possibly? d) i mean, Kennedy has already been accepted, so all he'd need to do was show up? you are right that this is a 'starting over' moment for Greg and yet he does have the experience of someone who has been there before. it's complexities like these that make me want to write a sequel. we'll see? xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/06/18 10:56 pm Title: Chapter 22: Sizing Each Other Up

Wow, this story just gets more captivating with each chapter. Even though the main event has passed.
I still see several possible outcomes, mostly dependent on whether or not they all switch back.
I guess at this point, assuming the switch is permanent, maybe Gretchen as Greg hooks up with Kennedy as Gretchen; and Greg as Kennedy hooks up with Paul. Kennedy loses 20+ years of her life.
If they do switch back, maybe Greg hooks up with Gretchen and makes them all a family.
Whatever happens I will be reading and re-reading every word as long as you keep writing. Thank you.

Author's Response: i sort of feel like folks (i.e. probably every last reader) who is looking for answers concerning romantic 'will they' or won't they' is going to come away from this story disappointed. that's my guess. i could be wrong. it's just that the triple swap is so... knotty. theoretically, there is nothing stopping gretchen from getting involved with greg... except despite whatever gretchen's new body is telling her, that's still the daughter she raised from infancy. icky! Greg could go after Paul... but the latter would need to get over the fact that the woman he cared for (loved?) is not the same person anymore. my thinking (and i already know the answer here) is that if there is a swap back, it will be prompted by Kennedy. her 'losses' from this swap are, as several of you have pointed out, the most egregious. scales may very well need to be balanced. i guess we'll see? and by 'we' i mean you because i'm almost finished with the conclusion. probably. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/03/18 01:56 pm Title: Chapter 21: Lillian

Very sweet and sentimental chapter. At some point, I wonder, will they face up to the possibility that the swap is permanent? Can Gretchen really do Greg's job? Can Kennedy do Gretchen's? Kennedy just lost what? 20 years of life and became her own mother. That's gotta mess with her head. Anyway I've really enjoyed this, I'm looking forward to see where you take it.

Author's Response: for all intents and purposes this is Greg's story. i am interested in the Kennedy / Gretchen sides, too. but honestly, they'd need to be explored in a sequel i think. or maybe i compose this story all over again from scratch from Kennedy's POV instead. lol. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/31/18 08:11 pm Title: Chapter 20: And Baby Makes Four

That was the best depiction of labor and delivery I I've ever read, and I've been there for 2 of them. Good thing there were no complications like breech or needing a c-section. He even got an epidural. I always say no pain, no pain.
It seems like Greg was at a tipping point, but came over to wanting to be a mommy, which could create tremendous conflict later on. What happens when Kennedy misses her old life, friends, age?
There can only be one, right?
Please, please keep this story going. You are a brilliant and talented writer. I would follow this story for years!

Author's Response: no pain, no pain. i like that. the questions you ask in the second part of your comment are spot on and very astute. they are very much what i have been grappling with when thinking about a sequel or an extension of this story. in many ways Kennedy has gotten the shortest stick of these 3 people and i am coming around toward the idea that she speak her mind. eventually. right now? with Greg dealing with all of this and her own complicated feelings? but yes. there's only one Kennedy body. something's got to give, right? thanks for your kind words. your excitement makes writing fun. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/30/18 12:17 pm Title: Chapter 20: And Baby Makes Four

Nice to see a new family bond growing. I'm starting to wonder where you will take this next.

Author's Response: my guess is the entire 'episode' at the hospital, from delivery through recovery, will turn into a kind of fever dream for Greg. that we aren't really seeing him as a mother just yet. everyone is just trying to make their way through this, and once they settle at home, their new lives can begin? xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Day Dreamer Signed Report
Date: 10/29/18 12:44 am Title: Chapter 19: All You Have to do is Push

Wow. OK I got emotionally involved in your well-written first-person account of the delivery, especially having witnessed a couple of live births "from a safe distance" (not the mommy!) Funny how I don't recall them being quite so, well, laborious or protracted. But the details always vary, and your particular narrative is certainly plausible -- hence, gripping. Can't wait to see what happens next, both with mommyhood and with getting her (new) teenage body back in a slimmer shape.

Author's Response: thank you *so much* Day Dreamer. a few comment replies back i regrettably made it sound like all labors are like the one i wrote about here (long, difficult) when of course you are right. every delivery is different. glad you find it plausible nonetheless. i, too, am looking forward to seeing how Greg navigates what comes next. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/27/18 09:10 pm Title: Chapter 19: All You Have to do is Push

That was incredible. I felt like I was right there holding her hand. Thank you.

Author's Response: you're very welcome! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/27/18 12:34 pm Title: Chapter 19: All You Have to do is Push

Very well written chapter. I felt like I was in the room with Kennedy watching her have the baby.

Author's Response: that chapter very nearly killed me. i'm happy you enjoyed it. if enjoy is the right word. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Kathryn Mayhew Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/26/18 11:14 pm Title: Chapter 19: All You Have to do is Push

Awesome! I think the last three chapters are the best written "giving birth" scene I've ever seen put to paper... Amazing.

Author's Response: that is very kind of you, Kathryn. i wanted to draw this out, because everything most people see on tv or in movies make labor into something that just suddenly happens. When in reality it take forever. i'm glad this resonated with you. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: storylovinggamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/23/18 03:32 am Title: Chapter 18: We Had an Agreement

Can't wait for the next chap!

Author's Response: i can't wait for it to be finished, either. however let's ask Greg if he's ready, okay? xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Limbos Mistress Signed Report
Date: 10/23/18 12:11 am Title: Chapter 18: We Had an Agreement

Another wonderful chapter. I love the way you get inside "Kennedy's" head. The snark is at the perfect level for a middle-aged man suddenly thrust into this situation. The only bad thing about this story? I know one day it will come to a conclusion. Something I'm not really looking forward to. Keep up the awesome work! XOXO

Author's Response: well, all stories need to end sometime, right? oh, wait, was that not the response you were looking for? fine then, i'll try again. this story will never ever end, not ever, nope. that better? :-p xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/22/18 09:57 pm Title: Chapter 18: We Had an Agreement

Really well written chapter. I didn't see that twist coming. Gretchen, with Greg's money, is in a perfect spot to adopt her granddaughter. Just a thought.

Author's Response: ty, Zapper! and a very astute observation... xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/22/18 05:49 pm Title: Chapter 18: We Had an Agreement

I can practically smell those sandwiches myself, thanks to your depiction of this time in the room.
And I do hope Greg decides to keep the baby. The story will seem incomplete if she gives it up.
Great job.

Author's Response: i'm honestly not at all sure how most adoptions work, tbh. i have no idea how much time (if any) most birth mothers with plans in place to give their children (immediately) up for adoption spend with their child. i'm guessing things vary significantly, ranging from no time at all to far longer than I'd ever guess. in the fictive world i am creating here, i am thinking the agency Kennedy is / was working with could have applicants in place almost immediately. i think the timing and approval (the things that would hold up the process) would almost certainly be up to the mother (in this case Greg) and the timing for a lot of this would depend on whether he'd want to meet with prospective adopters, etc. at the very least i think he'd want to do 'right' by Kennedy, and not just sign off on any old set of adoptive parents. meaning while I'm still not sure about him keeping the baby, the child may very much factor into his life for at least a little while. and who knows, after a few days or even weeks time? maybe you'll get your wish after all. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/22/18 05:34 pm Title: Chapter 17: Just Breathe

In the movie 'Switch' the man turned into a woman does get pregnant from a drunken romp with her/his best friend and delivers near the end of the movie.
In typical Hollywood fashion, however, the pregnancy and birth scenes are only two-dimensional in comparison to the story you have crafted. I feel like I am right in the classroom and delivery room with Kennedy.
Can't say it enough - your writing is incredible. Thank you.

Author's Response: not exactly a glowing review of that film. maybe that's why i've never heard of it. either way, thank you for the compliments. it really does help inspire me to do better. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/20/18 04:12 pm Title: Chapter 17: Just Breathe

Things are really accelerating for Greg. I'm starting to get really curious, how will all of this end?

Author's Response: to quote the inimitable J. Goldblum in Jurassic Park, "Like finds a way..." xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/20/18 03:51 pm Title: Chapter 16: The 10 Indignities of Kennedy Garner

I like the way you designed this chapter with the #10 Indignities.

Author's Response: this is one of the first chapters i wrote for this story! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/20/18 03:12 am Title: Chapter 17: Just Breathe

Speaking of DVDs, I think this story has the makings of a great movie. I'm sure women everywhere would love seeing a man go through pregnancy and childbirth.

Author's Response: to my knowledge (which is admittedly limited), there is no film in the body swap genre that features a male / female swap where the female is pregnant. hollywood? hi, it's me, charlotte. i will happily write that script.

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/19/18 01:22 am Title: Chapter 17: Just Breathe

I'm loving every word of this. And dreading the fact that we are one more chapter closer to the end.
Things are obviously getting real interesting at this point. I love how Kennedy's body is in nesting mode, then denial, without Greg even knowing it. He is truly going where no man has gone before.

Author's Response: one more chapter closer to the end, sure. but between you and me, i've outlined at least 4 more chapters. there will probably be a couple more than that though. i've also tossed around the idea of nixing the 'sequel' and just ending the story where it ends... and then tacking on 'bonus' chapters as a sort of epilogue. that i can add to whenever i want and keep moving forward in time as i see fit. this way we'll have a proper story, with a beginning, middle, and end, and then the story equivalent of DVD 'bonus featurettes'. or something. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/15/18 10:03 pm Title: Chapter 16: The 10 Indignities of Kennedy Garner

Another amazing chapter! Learned a few more things about pregnancy. "Lightning crotch" - never heard of it. #4 was just hilarious. The picture you painted had everything but a brown cloud rising up around Kennedy as she begged the earth to swallow her up.
I think Greg tends to overreact in a negative way, and despite his new body's influence really went off on Jasper. She probably should have just asked him to have that discussion another time. But that's Greg.
Again, thank you for an amazing story.

Author's Response: ty, Elron. Greg has all sorts of issues, but he definitely is proud and doesn't like pity and that's probably what spurred the reaction here. i wanted for us to at least get a chance to see the father, who probably won't have a place in the story moving forward is my guess. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/10/18 07:18 am Title: Chapter 15: Some Form of Quiet

Wow, just wow.

Author's Response: :-) xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Limbos Mistress Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/10/18 01:02 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Another delightful chapter. You truly have captured the essence of a middle-aged man trapped inside a pregnant teen's body. Equal parts horror, wonder, and acceptance. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: i mean, i hope it comes across as semi-realistic? it's all fantasy but imo, good fantasy is grounded firmly in earthy details. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: moon-sky81 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/09/18 10:32 pm Title: Chapter 15: Some Form of Quiet

I’ve been following this story since the start and it has grown to be my current favourite. I love your dry and sarcastic sense of humour, very much like I am. And with this chapter I love how he/she is suddenly appreciating the miracle of pregnancy and bonding with the baby. Please don’t rush the ending as the current pace is perfect! And yes please to a sequel :)

Author's Response: thank you so much, moon-sky81. it helps a lot to know that people enjoy my silly little story. and no worries whatsoever about me rushing anything. i'm super slow, haven't you noticed? and back at chapter 11 i figured we were halfway done and that still seems about right to me. meaning at least 5 more chapters, probably 7 and possibly as many as 10. i have large chunks of what's to come written, but huge holes here and there. such is writing. and i'll see what i can do about that sequel :-p xo, charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/06/18 11:57 pm Title: Chapter 14: The Boyfriend

Greg's interactions with guys as Kennedy are so good.

Author's Response: ty, ubougie! more to come... xo, charlotte

Reviewer: storylovinggamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/06/18 02:45 pm Title: Chapter 14: The Boyfriend

Loving this! Looking forward to the ending!

Author's Response: thank you so much, storylovinggamer. i haven't yet wrote the ending, though i have written portions of other upcoming chapters. i hope you will like it. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/06/18 11:54 am Title: Chapter 14: The Boyfriend

Nice chapter. It was fun to see how Greg's new body is affecting his mind in more subtle ways. I think he's so caught up in being female and pregnant that the more subtle changes are being lost on him. How are Kennedy and Gretchen changing?

Author's Response: ty, Zapper! unfortunately(?), this is Greg's story so we'll only get tangential knowledge of how Kennedy and Gretchen are faring. hopefully we'll see more of that as we wind things to a close here. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/05/18 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 14: The Boyfriend

Another great chapter. I'm already starting to dread the end of the story coming along. I hope it continues for a while after the baby is born. Your writing continues to amaze and captivate me. Thank you.

Author's Response: thank you, Elron. for me, the story increasingly feels like it is (slowly) marching toward a conclusion. i'll put more of these thoughts in upcoming 'end notes' to future chapters, but i'm thinking more and more about writing a sequel to this story that explores the lives of these people after the baby is born. we will see some postpartum things here in this story, i'm sure, but i'm like you. i want to see how things go over a longer period of time. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/30/18 11:56 am Title: Chapter 13: This is Happening

I love the way you have Greg handling the stress, with the snarky inner monologue, it made me laugh several times. The detailed exposition in this story is really well done. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: thank you, Zapper! i should be able to post another chapter later this week. hopefully. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/26/18 06:19 am Title: Chapter 13: This is Happening

Well, it's good to see the adult occupant of Kennedy's body finally starting to come around.
I wonder who is going to lay claim to the baby after delivery? The one who conceived it, or the one who delivers it (whoever that is). Obviously only one body has the right equipment to feed the baby.
And when the doctor describes it, it just seems a lot less yucky. Lol

Author's Response: Greg is sort of being forced to 'come around', isn't he? there isn't much he can do at this point. few things are more (exclusively) feminine than having a baby. whenever she decides to be born. and as far as 'claims' go, remember, Kennedy has an adoption plan in place. i'm not sure if there are adoptive parents already picked out and everything, but she more or less gave up her 'claim' before this swap happened. not that Greg couldn't go back on the agreement, if keeping the baby is something he feels compelled to do. we'll see, i suppose. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Day Dreamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/23/18 09:29 pm Title: Chapter 12: Middleside High

What a great -- but raunchy -- story. I'm hooked even with the unloveable characters, the cursing, and the explicit biology. If "what if" this really happened, yeah, it would be about like this, wouldn't it? Realistic after the magic happens. I'm enjoying how Greg at least is getting a bit more settled in her new role, hating it or not, and looking forward to where you take us on this wild ride. Hoping you eventually tie back to the title, "strategic fit", too.

Author's Response: thank you, Day Dreamer!! you made my day. i always intended for this to be an 'unromantic' TG story, and by that i mean i knew the 'explicit biology' would be too much for some readers. i'm glad you are still hooked. for me, given this particular 'fit', how could all of the (sometimes) crude pregnancy stuff not matter immensely to Greg? he not only gets a new sex, but it's a body that is thoroughly engaged in a biological process he has no frame of reference on and one with a very obvious endgame. i'm so happy this feels realistic to you. and as far as the title goes, i think it resonates throughout. but i will see about tying it in more, that's an excellent point. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Sanro Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/23/18 07:37 pm Title: Chapter 12: Middleside High

Loving this story *blah blah blah blah blah* in Dracula's voice. If you don't write more soon I will suck your blood. Also it's been one day only in 10 chapters LoL 😮 well blah blah blah. She needs some sexy quickie next *blah blah blah* after delivery LoL

Author's Response: Dracula, is that really you? longtime admirer. you just keep being you, Dracky. :-p and you are right, 10 chapters = 1 day. that pace is going to start picking up. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/22/18 08:55 pm Title: Chapter 11: The Lovely Ache

Excellent chapter of self exploration. I'll bet every male reader would have this as Chapter 1, I mean c'mon, the chance to check things out...
And I wouldn't care if it was cough syrup coming out of those jugs, I'd be sucking them dry just, because.
Thanks for the great writing and storyline.

Author's Response: you are very welcome, Elron. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/22/18 08:08 pm Title: Chapter 12: Middleside High

Hard to imagine a pregnant girl going to school so close to her due date. Gotta be way too uncomfortable to pay attention.
And then it gets even... yuckier.
Seems like Kennedy's body's alarm is about to go off.

Author's Response: the way i figure it, Kennedy has arrangements with many if not all of her teachers. it's a few weeks before the end of her senior year. she wants to graduate, the school wants her to graduate, and she's put in the work. maybe she's taken some finals already, maybe she's done special projects to fulfill other classes. she's basically running out the clock and attending as long as she feels capable. with all of the time she's taken for appointments, plus sick days for various things, i bet the real Kennedy feels a sense of guilt that she needs to go the extra mile. Greg, obviously, doesn't. But maybe he was curious about what this kind of day in the life was like. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/21/18 09:37 pm Title: Chapter 12: Middleside High

Ah, me thinks a baby is coming soon. I enjoyed the last two chapters. Please keep up the good work.

Author's Response: glad to hear you're enjoying things still. the limits of Greg's borrowed body (it's quite petite) are starting to materialize. i suppose 'soon' is relative but i have it on good authority she won't make it to her due date, which is still about a week away. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: evenrude Signed Report
Date: 09/21/18 02:48 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Not exactly what I meant. I suppose I thought the story was going to be even more filled with fantasy (magic?) than it is proving to be so far, and that’s good, in my opinion. I prefer science and reality, or science fiction to magical transformations.

Maybe that’s what I was trying to explain, in fewer words.

In any case, the story is much better than my original expectations for it.

Author's Response: ah, i think i understand. the only bit of 'magic' in this story is the swap itself. the mechanics behind the swap are meant to be obscure and unknowable. sort of unspoken wish fulfillment. your preference in science over magic is your own, but i can say with some confidence that things will remain more 'scientific' as the story progresses. it's my goal to make the details feel authentic, and if not exactly correct, then at least believable. if anything ever feels off, do say something. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: evenrude Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/21/18 10:47 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

I found the story difficult at first but it’s starting to get more and more interesting.

Doing well.

Author's Response: i'm sorry to hear you found the story difficult. i'd love to know what you mean by this. was it boring? confusing? where did it begin to get better for you? what about it got more interesting? xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/13/18 02:57 pm Title: Chapter 10: In or Out

Good chapter. I like how they are all changing and adjusting. Well, some more than others . . . hehehe. I enjoy how you have the characters supporting each other. I think in the end, if they are stuck or return to their normal bodies, they'll be better people. I don't know about your other readers, but I'm kinda hoping that Greg ends up giving birth. I just think that with his personality it'd be pretty humorous. Although his doctor's visit on Wednesday is bounded to be interesting. Looking forward to your next chapter.

Author's Response: 'pretty humorous', you say. i'll have to take your word for that. if (yes, if) Greg is the one who gives birth, i assure you, it will be... something alright. guess you'll have to wait until chapter 35, lol. and i dunno about 'better' but everyone, regardless of how things end up, will be different, that's for sure. thank you for reading my drivel!! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/13/18 02:29 pm Title: Chapter 10: In or Out

What a talented author you are. You made what is essentially three people sitting at a table talking not boring. I would normally skip over such a chapter, but, well, aside from the fact there isn't another chapter yet, you've throw in some mental nuggets in there as well as some witty banter. Well played.
You have somehow avoided having this story go off the rails, despite playing so much along the edge. Yup, talented author indeed.

Author's Response: thank you, ubougie!! and here i was thinking this was the 'action-packed' chapter. three people is a lot for me. you do remember all of the 'just Greg' chapters, no? i'm glad my 'witty' banter passes the test. these characters are fun to write for. and hey, i'll drive this thing off the rails when i'm good and ready. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/13/18 05:43 am Title: Chapter 10: In or Out

Yuk.

Author's Response: ;-p xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/10/18 12:04 pm Title: Chapter 9: Hard Truths

A hard truth or an uncomfortable truth? I like how Kennedy puzzled it out and then confronted Greg with his own inner demon. Now, how do they move forward?

Author's Response: <3, xo, charlotte

Reviewer: User5561 Signed Report
Date: 09/09/18 12:41 am Title: Chapter 3: Gregory Dobson, I Presume

If it's a mother and a daughter, then how did Greg get involved? Maybe it'll clear itself up later in the story.

Author's Response: it amuses me that you are most concerned / skeptical of how a third party like Greg got involved in the first place and not, oh, how people swapping bodies is a thing that could happen to anyone, anywhere, but to each their own! hopefully the last few chapters have explained why these three people found themselves in this predicament. as to the 'why', well, that we may never know. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 09/06/18 12:59 pm Title: Chapter 9: Hard Truths

Wow, that was a doozy.
I hate to say this, but I don't really have anything constructive to offer. I feel like I'm better at offering my thoughts on how Greg functions when alone, and I'm rooting for a Greg who's in control - neither of which appeared to really shine through in this update. On the other hand, this confrontation was a long time coming, absolutely necessary for the story's progress, and very vivid, so there's that.
Kennedy is either a very mature teenager or knows something Greg and her mother don't know.
It's worth noting that Greg-in-control is not necessarily masculine!Greg. I think that if Greg were to grow more comfortable with her new body, she would find herself managing much better. In other words, since she's already found herself to be unable to push herself out by sheer will alone, it's perfectly possible that she'll try going in the opposite direction and find that it helps with her self-control.

Author's Response: this is all subject to change at a moment's notice but it bears keeping in mind that this might be Greg's lowest moment so far. He's vulnerable in a way he's not sued to being, though I would not say he is weak. he's just been shown or had a difficult truth dumped in his lap, and it goes against a lot of what he thought about himself. do i think he will rebound and acquire more self-control? absolutely. given a long enough timeline some quintessential Greg traits might become exacerbated by him being in a teenage woman's body. as far as Kennedy goes, i at least hope she's believable. the way i see her, she had to grow up waaay too fast and was more or less an adult at 15. probably has some disdain for peers who are more frivolous / shallow. lots more to come...

Reviewer: Robyn Hoode Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/06/18 10:36 am Title: Chapter 9: Hard Truths

This is the best story on here right now. I always look for an update.

Usual body swap scenarios only have a 2 way change; that there are 3 people involved makes it ... well, more involved :) Added that the young girl has lost several years of her life and is now her own mother (and, of course, Greg's) as well as about to become a grandmother! Gretchen seems to have the best deal as she has gone from struggling single mother to wealthy businessman.

Now - how will it work out? I suppose the obvious step is for them to become a pseudo family living in Gregory's apartment. Too easy? Perhaps so. I think there may be a few hiccups on the way. I can hardly wait.

Thanks

Author's Response: awww thanks, Robyn! your words mean so much to me. i love that you can't hardly wait. this is going to sound weird, but i can't either. i have an outline of more or less everything that's still to come but there's more than enough flexibility built in for surprises, even to myself. and hopefully, always hopefully, i've crafted a situation where all three of these folks has given up good things and bad things, and gained good things and bad things. thank you again, xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/06/18 07:17 am Title: Chapter 9: Hard Truths

Wow, that went just like I have come to expect in this story. I really felt like I was in the room with the three of them. Your writing has just the right amount of detail, and the pacing is perfect.
It's pretty obvious now that this isn't going to be resolved anytime soon. And time is most definitely not on the side of the pregnant one.

Author's Response: spoiler alert, kind of? i've written lots and lots of what's to come but I haven't made it to the birth yet in my drafts. and it's entirely possible that our current situation is undone by then. but if i were a betting gal... xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/01/18 07:43 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Mind ~ Body Problem

Ha! I really enjoyed this chapter. The subtle (and not so subtle) mental changes, how he struggles and fights yet his new body, it's hormones and needs are obviously calling the shots. I can't wait to see what happens when his body gets home from work. Will Kennedy show up in her mom's body? Will Kennedy's mom, in his body be attracted to Kennedy now in an adult female body? I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: there's a lot here that i want to say but won't. and i should be able to post the next chapter sometime this week. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/31/18 09:01 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Mind ~ Body Problem

You have got to be kidding me. This story couldn't jump a shark if there was an actual one in the pool and Kennedy was wearing a leather jacket while Pete drove the boat!
Seriously, this story is awesome. It's got detail, conflict, and suspense. You've scored the hat trick here.
I do hope Pete comes back for Round 2. I think Kennedy is horny afterall, and it would be interesting to see how that plays out.
I'd also like to see what else her hormones do to her. Something about losing control that adds fire to a story. And I think Kennedy's body has plenty of gasoline to pour on that fire.

Author's Response: there's certainly an aspect of this story that is about control. Greg's used to having a lot of it. However it's in an invisible kind of control. Something he has been coasting on. I won't say he's taken it for granted, because he enjoys his wealth, power, and influence. Now, assuming he stays in Kennedy's body for an extended period of time, he'll have to adjust to a different amount of control, depending on the situation. Or even different kinds of control. It should be fun. Here's hoping. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 08/29/18 11:04 am Title: Chapter 8: The Mind ~ Body Problem

Yup, er... it's very introspective, so I don't have much to say here. Great update, though, and waiting eagerly for the next one, etc., etc.
Are you planning to have Pete show up again? Greg can definitely do much better than him, so I'm hoping he doesn't show up again. He's already served his narrative purpose of getting Greg to question her sexuality, anyway.

Author's Response: as i said in the notes, i debated whether to show any of this or not. i'm not sure if this chapter is 'great' but i'm happy it's at least not redundant. i confess, in my early drafts Pete didn't even have a name, so that should tell you all you need to know about my overall plans for him. as you say, Greg can do better.

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/29/18 08:30 am Title: Chapter 8: The Mind ~ Body Problem

Amazing chapter, probably the best in the story. Orientation flip is a big draw for me, and damn you know how to write. I honestly learned a lot about how to write just by reading this chapter. I've taken many notes. Worthy of another 5 stars.

Author's Response: you're too kind, ubougie. i'm happy you not only enjoyed this but 'took notes'. hope things retain your interest moving forward. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/27/18 01:50 pm Title: Chapter 7: In Over Her Head

I really like how his Greg's new body is affecting him. Very well written chapter.

Author's Response: then you are going to love the next chapter ;-p xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/27/18 01:05 pm Title: Chapter 5: The Glow

Great scene. I love how you wrote this, the inner monologue is fantastic.

Author's Response: thank you, Zapper! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/27/18 12:46 pm Title: Chapter 4: My Lunch With Kennedy

Cool chapter. I love how Kennedy is feeling free and doesn't want to swap back right away. I wonder how her mom will feel after being in Greg's body for a while?

Author's Response: the dirty little secret here (or maybe it's obvious?) is that everyone got * something * they were missing. of course everyone also got a bunch of stuff they never would have asked for in a million years. hopefully as things progress I'll be able to show the 'win some / lose some' aspect of these swaps. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/25/18 11:41 am Title: Chapter 7: In Over Her Head

Great chapter

Author's Response: thank you! xo, charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 08/25/18 02:57 am Title: Chapter 7: In Over Her Head

First things first, love the worldbuilding so far. You really account for even the smallest movements. It really gets you thinking - those little tics that every person has - would they carry over if they occupied another's body? Most people are comfortable in their own bodies, so to have Greg overanalyzing every little movement in an unfamiliar context is quite believable.
I wonder if Greg is an ambitious person? Perhaps the mere fact that he keeps updated on what's going on above (metaphorically and literally) his objectively fantastic apartment might signify a repressed desire to one day enter and enjoy the "grand reception space at the very top".
Good to see that Greg is starting to appreciate that being Kennedy has its perks.
Greg has social media? I'd imagine it's just an Instagram account with 0 posts and a WhatsApp account with no profile picture.
I'm hoping Greg manages the "confrontation" with minimal fuss. Not saying that I want him to "win" or anything, just to stay in control without having Kennedy or Gretchen knock him out of balance. The power gradient he's used to has already been altered, whether he likes it or not, but even as a girl, Greg is probably still more assertive than either Gretchen or Kennedy. He's (mentally) older, after all, and I'd imagine his position at the company isn't too low either. If he acts like he's in control, then he will be.
The way I see Greg's sense of self changing across this chapter is very interesting as well. It's almost like swimming - he pulls away from the comforting familiarity of the shallow end and dips his toes into the deep, unfamiliar end of being Kennedy and then quickly returns to the shallow end. There are some interesting strategies that he leverages to reaffirm his sense of being "Gregory" - calling himself Dobson, for example. Perhaps when he's not using masculine terms - to refer to himself or otherwise - that is the time when his "separate personality" is starting to develop further.
It feels like Greg's speech patterns are starting to change towards a more youthful kind of pattern - "he's not even good looking", "so not the point" - though I think he was already using such patterns even at the start of this story. I don't know.
I also note that this chapter came about five days later than I was expecting. It wasn't a rude surprise, of course - I know you have your own life - but it would be good to know if we might expect such things in the future. A simple confirmation that you might take a fortnight between updates would suffice.

Author's Response: thank you, byzantium! your comments are always very helpful and appreciated. it is nice to know that people look forward to future chapters and i am sorry this one took so long. i wish i could say that i will have a new chapter up each week, but every two weeks is much more likely. it all depends on variable life stuff that i have a difficult time predicting. as far as ambition is concerned, one of the central unspoken premises of this story is that Greg has gotten to a point where he finds his life to be 'too easy'. could he rise higher than his already privileged position? i think is actually inevitable. but would he feel like he is earning it? i think most of his 'earning' days are behind him. i think you are spot on about his social media presence. i highly doubt he has ever posted anything, but does check some form of social media once in a while. call it morbid curiosity. much of the upcoming confrontation is already written--which doesn't mean it's ready to be published. it's an important chapter and i want to stick the landing. and honestly, as is hopefully evident, the most crucial confrontation happening right now (and in the future) is not Greg vs Ken and Gretchen but Greg vs This New Life. or Greg vs what Greg would be like if Kennedy's body were permanently his. it's a battle our protagonist will obviously win, but what kind of Greg will emerge? thank you for reading. xo, charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/20/18 06:31 pm Title: Chapter 6: So Not at Home

I wonder if New Kennedy will have cravings for pickles and ice cream, or intense horniness?

Author's Response: because i am incapable of not replying to comments, i'll indulge this question. it is my guess that yes, 'New Kennedy' will find her body holds mysterious sway over things like taste. there's probably certain amounts of muscle memory as well. if Greg were able to 'turn his brain off' he might find it easier to, say, put his hair up, etc. as to the latter part of your comment, i think you are underestimating just how pregnant Kennedy is. i'm not saying she can't or won't become aroused, but there's a considerable amount of discomfort going on and some less than flattering biological things. Kennedy herself would probably struggle a little to 'feel sexy'. though who knows with Greg. the 'newness' of it might be enough to swing things in the other direction.

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/18/18 07:23 pm Title: Chapter 6: So Not at Home

Wow, a big - boobed pregnant girl in a bikini. Could this story possibly get any better :)

Author's Response: it's called 'fan service', Elron, and no I am not ashamed. ;-p xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 08/14/18 10:38 am Title: Chapter 6: So Not at Home

I'm really liking the way this story is going so far. Not bored at all. So few stories really get into the minutiae of life, much less the intricacies of a mind. You have a knack for describing the intimate, blow-by-blow details of things as monotonous as dressing or examining oneself in the mirror and making them into true epics.
Greg's sense of self-worth is really quite interesting, and quite clearly tied to his sense of identity. No wonder that it would carry over across bodies. Greg knows who he is, regardless of his appearance.
It also looks like he managed to get a good look at Kennedy's breasts after all, as was mentioned in Chapter 2. It's great that you're cross-referencing with previous chapters.
Come to think of it, in a number of TG stories I've read, there is a tendency for the fellow getting TG'd to have a very plum corporate job, or otherwise be significantly materially endowed in some way or another. The TG involves him losing his resources as he changes (something about the power differential, probably); on the contrary, here, Greg retains full control. But for how long, I wonder? We don't know how devious Kennedy is yet - so far she seems content to enjoy her life sans baby - but there is the possibility, as I see it, of her and her mother conspiring to fleece Greg of as much money as possible while they still can. No doubt Greg's snide comments re: "Does Mrs Garner live in a McMansion?" would rankle very much. Perhaps Mrs Garner is the sort of person to avoid confrontation but also to ruminate at length on perceived slights?
Greg also continues to labour under the impression that this is all a bad dream and will be resolved forthwith. Yet he has also begun to develop a "midway point" - as you have said - to handle the sheer unfamiliarity of being Kennedy. Might I posit that the shock of not leaving Kennedy's body after, say, a few hours, will lead to this "fictional identity" of Greg's becoming a lot more substantial, perhaps justified by Greg deciding that since he's probably going to be here for a while more, he may as well enjoy himself, in so doing developing said "fictional identity" further. In which case we have two personas: the original Greg, and a different Greg - a Grace, if you will - considerably more at home in Kennedy's body and maybe even willing to think of it as hers, but otherwise 100% Greg.
So far everything is realistic; no major plot holes. Thanks for your effort.

Author's Response: I'm glad the pace is not wearing you guys out. I feel like I'll be able to jump forward a little faster eventually, but only after everything isn't so incredibly new to everyone involved. My guess is that it is Greg's strong sense of self that will get him through this. I wonder if the others will be so lucky. We'll see how the money issue plays out. A lot will depend on how these folks continue to get along. I'm also glad that Greg holding two simultaneous and contradictory points of view, namely that this will be over soon vs his practical way of dealing with the near future if this is his fate, comes across as believable. I think with every second that passes he will slowly merge that aforementioned strong sense of self with this new body and all that comes with it. Finding things he likes about this new life will help. Admitting to himself that he is allowed to like them will be something else altogether. Keep scanning for plot holes. I'm sure they are there somewhere. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: SirenB Signed Report
Date: 08/13/18 03:58 pm Title: Chapter 5: The Glow

I'll admit the subject matter didn't really interest me. Sorry, being pregnant just isn't the magical event it's made out to be. You seem to understand that very well.

But you this story has me captivated. It's all written so well. The way everything is described and presented so unapologetically makes everything feel so real. Every character comes across genuine and the world really feels alive.

I'm really excited to see what direction this story takes and how it's all going to come together. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Wow, Siren. I'll take that for a huge compliment. Obviously this story is pregnancy-focused, so if you can still find enjoyment then I am doing my job. The characters will get developed more over time. I thought about interspersing chapters from Kennedy or Gretchen's POV, but in the end decided this is Greg's tale so we'll get to know them through him. Here's to keeping you looking forward to more. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 08/06/18 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 5: The Glow

Come to think of it, those misogynists who like to criticize women's looks would make excellently catty bitches. Greg is one of those people.
Besides that, though, I feel like (perhaps) Greg ought to be less quiet. He's an executive, isn't he? So perhaps he's accustomed to speaking up and berating hapless salespeople into submission. I don't think he'd be the type of person to just stand there and allow other people to, say, call him "Honey", etc. though it may be because he's just unused to the unfamiliar environment of a maternity shop.
All these tidbits Greg's dropping about Kennedy's appearance (e.g. "drop a coin down that cleavage and you're not getting it back") are going to come in handy if he gets stuck and needs to rely on more than Kennedy's youth and ostensible vulnerability to get his way. His outlook on fashion is really different, isn't it? I kinda want to see an inventory of those three large shopping bags. Though such an activity perhaps ought to be split over a few chapters; having one whole chapter devoted to modelling maternity wear wouldn't be too interesting, I guess.

Author's Response: i wouldn't go so far as to describe Greg as an out and out misogynist. he is certainly critical of appearances (and what they imply about a person's self-worth, etc) but this is true for both men and women. Likewise, Greg treats everyone (more or less) on a scale of 'how useful are you to me'. Irrespective of sex. The only thing that complicates this (of course) is the fact that women are 'useful' to him (or were) for sex. However I don't think Greg would think less of a woman who turned him down. In fact it might impress him all the more. He certainly isn't the type to think that a female colleague at work is less capable just because she is a woman. Is he going to act, as you say, 'catty' as Kennedy? Sure. Sometimes. Where appropriate. As Greg grows into this new life as Kennedy more and more I expect he'll get 'louder'. Right now he is still feeling all of this out. Thanks for all of your feedback! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/01/18 02:47 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Wow, this is really building up to be a great story. Like you said, Greg was a real douche bag, and that has carried over to New Kennedy. It was nice to see New Mom take NK down a few pegs. NK is so focused on this being very temporary she has yet to even question how this happened, let alone how to fix it.
I hope NK is the one to give birth and eventually turn down the chance to become his old self again. He needs a new perspective on life.
I also hope we learn a lot more about Kennedy and her mom, since most of the story so far has been about Greg.
Keep up the great storytelling!

Author's Response: thank you, Elron. many TG stories focus a lot on the 'why' (i know i'm guilty of this very often). here i'm mainly interested in the 'so now what?' or, to put it another way, what if this situation just... happens. and there is no 'why'. and thus no way to fix it. one thing i will 'spoil' here is that i do plan to not only have the birth happen before the story ends but have it happen well before the story ends. it's all to easy to have birth be the finale when so much happens after that, it's literally the start of something new. so why not dig into that as well? xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: WishfulThinking Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/01/18 11:57 am Title: Chapter 4: My Lunch With Kennedy

So...
I'm enjoying you're writing, it's gripping. The three way swap really tripped me out, a nice touch. A huge plot hole however, is Kennedy, in Gretchen's body says that she missed the bus and her mum drove her to school however, in an earlier chapter Greg, in Kennedy's body, sat in Kennedy's 'junker' for several minutes. So unless you've gone back and fixed things, that really stood out to me.
Despite that, still really good. I look forward to everything to come - the nitty, gritty and the good.

Author's Response: ha! i was wondering who would be the first to notice this after i reread everything the other day. i've written a fair amount of this story 'out of order' (some chapters i haven't even published yet were among the first to be written) so holes like this abound. i'll amend this by simply omitting it from Kennedy's tirade. which doesn't mean i'm not thankful! writing and then editing one's own work is a dicey proposition. unfortunately, my own eyes are the only pair i can see from. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 08/01/18 10:21 am Title: Chapter 4: My Lunch With Kennedy

As far as I'm concerned, this story is proceeding quite nicely. But one quibble: would you mind not making Greg too girly?
This might seem a bit odd, given that he IS a girl, but what I mean is, there are some patterns of thinking and acting which don't, strictly speaking, limit themselves to one gender. Greg-as-Kennedy might, for instance, still cut people off mid-conversation, or refrain from blushing whenever something happens that prods his presumably nonexistent modesty. (I've seen a fair bit of Greg blushing in the three previous chapters, but none in this one, so that's good.) He is, after all, a middle-aged macho dude who's presumably set in his ways - simply in a different body. While I allow that a different body might lead to some changes in his personality, I don't think we should expect a radical overhaul which results in some frilly-pink princess-type personality. He simply hasn't gone through the decades of socializing and conditioning that most women have.
I don't know enough about Kennedy to say yet, but I do dislike her apparent smugness. Her smugness is understandable, though. Presumably she may not want her own body, her child, her boyfriend and her life anymore, but surely she doesn't think that her mother's situation - a "dead-end job" - might be preferable. There are far more possibilities available to her in her original body than in her mother's.
That said, if Greg were to stay in Kennedy's body (and to all intents and purposes BECOME Kennedy in the eyes of society and its related systems), I don't think he seems like the type to violently reject being female (dysphoria seems like a fairly recent phenomenon mostly due to an intensifying in societal pressures). I can imagine her giving the baby up for adoption and (maybe) getting with the boyfriend (given that their personalities mesh and Greg is able to get past his own male sexuality, which seems likely), as well as devoting her newfound youth to rebuilding a career and finances - a do-over, basically. She probably wouldn't be shortsighted enough to look out for her own immediate needs (as a young woman), having the mind of a fairly mature chap. Greg's outlook on life ("I wouldn't have a kid in high school, I'd rather go to college" or something like that) probably would transfer to new Kennedy.
[Speaking of which, if Greg does stay in Kennedy, he should really take control of his money properly.]
I imagine the new Kennedy would be a lot more assertive and a lot more high-maintenance. Feminine, yes, and the sort of person to maintain a walk-in closet filled to the brim, but not a frilly pink type. Playing up her sexuality and looks from time to time, yes, but not one of those "stuck-up flat business bitches" which Greg talks about in Chapt.2.

Author's Response: PRECISELY the kind of criticism i am looking for and that this story depends upon. your quibble is completely valid. and entirely the result of me not writing 'bad guys' very well. i really need to let Greg's inner douchebag shine, and that is not my instinct as a writer. or at least showcase his 'hard' qualities. I'm honestly glad you find Kennedy relatively unsympathetic (or smug as you say). lots of character development ahead, so i'm hoping i can both subvert and deepen what you have noticed, if that makes sense. as far as 'preferable situations' go, my hope is that all 3 main characters have ended up in undesirable situations (to some extent). they have left some things they disliked behind, but that doesn't mean they got everything (or even most things) that they wanted. the money angle is a complicated one and a thing we'll get into more. Kennedy and Gretchen would have needed to scrape by if the former was to keep the baby. it's one of the reasons why i outed the adoption angle so early. however if Greg receives even a fraction of his former wealth, the kid would want for nothing. then again everyone will need to play nice in order for this to happen. thank you thank you thank you for the wealth of feedback!! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Amanda Lynn Signed Report
Date: 07/31/18 07:36 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

I think I see where this is going.
I think the eventuality of it is they all become a happy family. The mother and Kennedy discover they like the way they are now and Greg has no say as he's now a pregnant Kennedy and once they've had the baby can't give it up.

Author's Response: a family, eh? i don't know about that (let alone the 'happy' part). suppose Kennedy and Gretchen do like their new lives. even if that's the case, they still spent the past 18 years as mother and daughter. not like they're going to, say, suddenly fall in love and get married or something. i guess they could live together as platonic friends and be the support Greg needs to get through all of this. i could just as easily see these three people going their separate ways and finding fulfillment elsewhere (if at all). all this being said, i love that you offered a theory! and i hope that you enjoyed reading the story. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/28/18 05:42 pm Title: Chapter 3: Gregory Dobson, I Presume

Very well written. I like how you've drawn up the characters and how they react to each other.

Author's Response: thank you for your comments, Zapper. hopefully you'll keep enjoying the story and that the twists won't be too obvious. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/28/18 05:28 pm Title: Chapter 2: The Face in the Mirror

Very well written chapter. I love the twist at the end.

Reviewer: Zapper Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/28/18 05:17 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Wow - what a start.

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 07/25/18 12:03 pm Title: Chapter 3: Gregory Dobson, I Presume

OK, this is great. I keep having this recurring image in my head of this heavily pregnant slip of a girl acting like a stereotypical Male Chauvinist Pig, including lots of swearing, leg-spreading and authoritative speech patterns. Would be really interesting to see Greg!Kennedy wandering around Greg's apartment, living Greg's life (going to the gym? going for a shower? watching TV? the possibilities are endless), though the shopping 'episode' would probably be quite interesting as well. Greg seems to be the sort of fellow with a high opinion of himself; does that extend to the physical body he's occupying, I wonder? Because if so, Kennedy will find herself the proud owner of several extremely expensive maternity smocks shortly.

Author's Response: thank you!! and your 'recurring image' is exactly what I'm going for. a lot of what you hint at here is in the works one way or another. and spoiler alert, our hero is going to drop *a lot* of money 'fixing' what they see as this body's 'unacceptable' aesthetics. thanks for the kind words! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/24/18 03:29 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Wow, a three-way swap (at least). And one of them is pregnant. I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for chapter 4. I hope New Kennedy settles down a bit. Telling everyone to fuck off and running away doesn't leave much room for conversations. Your descriptions of pregnancy seem very vivid and detailed. Keep up the great writing, and maybe slow the pace down a little so the characters have more time to interact. Thanks.

Author's Response: 'at least' is right. and maybe even 'at least for now'. i'm happy that edges of seats are being occupied. no promises on our 'hero' settling down though that doesn't mean there won't be conversations and confrontations. i'm glad the pregnancy details ring true. and thank you for all the criticism and feedback. we'll see how things go! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Sanro Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/14/18 10:53 am Title: Chapter 2: The Face in the Mirror

Keep up the great work. It's very nice.

Author's Response: gee thanks! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/12/18 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 2: The Face in the Mirror

You are a great tease in your writing, which is awesome. It is like the character puts their toe into the corruptive nature of femininity, enough to pique my interest, but then pulls it back, which affords you as a writer a lot lengthier sexy descriptions than most authors which only have just one moment in their stories where the really sexy bits are. I am always trying to learn how to write that way myself, but you are leagues ahead of me. As always, high praise, 5 stars.

Author's Response: well i don't know if any of your praise is true but thank you all the same. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: byzantium Signed Report
Date: 07/07/18 06:10 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Fantastic story! Are you the "reprobate" who wrote "The Strangest Halloween" and "Hailey's Curse"? May I know where your works are stored? I've found an author called "Kim Ott" on FictionMania but not sure if that's yours.

Author's Response: lol, that's me. i've written some as reprobate and some as kim ott here and there. as far as where stories might be... i'm not sure? not every website lasts forever and i don't keep hard copies i'm afraid. anyhow, this has been no help at all. thanks for the compliment. i'll try not to mess this story up. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: 808-TG-KID Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/02/18 11:40 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Great story! Keep it up

Author's Response: thanks! i'll do my best. xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Limbos Mistress Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/29/18 01:51 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Love this! Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank you, Mistress! I'll try! xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: ubougie Signed Report
Date: 06/29/18 01:22 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

(Looks at author name.) Oh, yeah, that makes sense. Look forward to more!

Reviewer: ubougie Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/29/18 01:20 am Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Excellent descriptions. High praise!

Author's Response: it's always all about the details, right? i just hope i don't get too bogged down in them... xo, Charlotte

Reviewer: Elron Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/28/18 07:54 pm Title: Chapter 1: Begging For a Change

Looks great so far. Can't wait for the next part.

Author's Response: i've plotted ahead several chapters or so and have a considerable amount written but my guess is the next chapter will go up around the middle of July. slow and steady, I'm afraid... xo, Charlotte

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.