Reviews For Night and Day
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: _The_Professor_ Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/27/18 09:58 am Title: Chapter 12

That was truly a treat to read! The world you created was utterly captivating and the characters eminently likable and relatable, and I loved your writing style and your descriptions! I especially loved your references to astronomy (though that's probably because I am an astronomer myself.) Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable read!

Author's Response: Again, I didn't create this world. Morpheus did. You can find his Twisted stories here: https://bigclosetr.us/topshelf/book/33201/morpheuss-twisted-universe

For some reason, that page lists only five of the Twisted stories plus the setting description page. You can find other stories, both Morpheus's and some fanfics by me and others, here: https://bigclosetr.us/topshelf/other-keywords/twisted

Reviewer: blue98 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/17/18 10:07 pm Title: Chapter 12

Cute story, loved it! Naturally I want to know more, but I'll take this. Nice character dynamic, cool powers, perfectly condensed.

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/12/18 01:10 am Title: Chapter 1

Actually, something just occurred to me- suppose Diana grows up, become an astronomer, gets a job working on the South Pole Telescope at Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station in Antarctica, and ends up staying over the winter- during which the night effectively lasts for three months. Would she remain awake and dominant the whole time, or would she still switch off with Jamie even though it's technically still night? Or would she start sleeping like a normal person?

(if she and Jamie still switch off, it would actually give her an opportunity to see the sun- just spend some time in Alaska near midsummer...)

Author's Response: You're not the first person to suggest this; Eric (I think) on BigCloset mentioned something similar. If I ever write a sequel to this, it will probably involve Diana and Jamie visiting the Arctic or Antarctic, maybe with Diana as a grad student or postdoc in astronomy, and Jamie along for the ride, picking up whatever other job he can find there. I think their change would still be linked to sunrise and sunset no matter how far north or south they go. If Diana was around 24 hours for several months during Arctic or Antarctic night, or Jamie during the long day, they would sleep normally.

Reviewer: Tessarion Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/10/18 11:31 pm Title: Chapter 12

I was actually surprised how emotionally moved I was by this piece, especially by the last line- the idea of having someone so close that you'll never meet, and a life you'll never be able to live, is really powerful- tragic, even. I suppose, for a better commenter with more relevant experience, there's an allegory to living with disabilities to be made here- but in any case, you've done a marvelous job of bringing Diana to life. I would love to know more of how Diana/Jamie adapted to their condition, and how the rest of their lives turned out.

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed Report
Date: 01/09/18 11:38 am Title: Chapter 11

I wouldn't have left such a long list of things had I realized the story was already complete, though in my defense you didn't put that at the bottom of every chapter. I'll throw in some more praise to compensate for it; Diana and Jamie definitely feel like real teenagers, and although you didn't give a bunch of detail, their family around them seems pretty fully fledged out. There're some small details that add nice little bits of flavor too.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/09/18 09:33 am Title: Chapter 11

Excellent chapter! U put a lot of thought into this storyline and it shows!

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/09/18 02:37 am Title: Chapter 10

Got me to break my lurking phase and post an actual review for the first time in nearly two years, so take that as a good thing. Writing is compelling, if a bit flat at times. There's ways you could show Diana's restlessness that would also highlight her differences from Jamie, and although she's poor, there's some things she could do other than read and watch stuff, like city stargazing or being artistic. She'd probably love parkour too, to be honest.

A few thoughts on the story that would be interesting to explore, in small or big ways. First, does Diana feel any particular relation to the lunar cycles? A full moon would rise and set exactly when she'd switch with Jamie, while a new moon would be entirely during Jamie's time. Second, given that she seems to believe her Twist was based on what she knew at the time about Apollo and Artemis (i'm not familiar with the setting if there're other rules), she'd probably test if learning new facts would change her personality. Likewise, she'd definitely test to see if she has incredible aim or speed in line with Artemis being an expert huntress. Lastly, Diana and Jamie effectively only experience time at half the rate others do, which means they could live past 100 easily, but although Diana is asexual, Jamie is not and he's kind of locked into a weird situation if he gets married and his wife and Diana don't get along. And it's not clear if Diana still feels romantic (but non-sexual) attraction, which she could be surprised by. It could be fun to play with the astronomy of it too, since the belt of Orion is one of the few constellations most people can recognize easily, and Orion was allegedly the only person Artemis ever fell in love with.

Anyways that's more than a bit, but it's good, good work, keep at it I guess? Yeah, that.

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind words and your intriguing thoughts. I wish I'd thought of some of this while I was writing it, but the story is finished and I don't plan to do any extensive revisions, or a sequel, although I don't rule out the possibility of a sequel someday. I think my time is better spent writing new stories, and preferably more original work and less fanfic than I've done in the last few years.

Reviewer: Kara Rose Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/08/18 09:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

Been reading this since you started posting chapters of it and I have to say I'm really enjoying it! Can't wait to see what happens next and where you take it and thanks for keeping me sane while I revise for the first half off my 3rd year degree exams!!

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/08/18 04:20 pm Title: Chapter 10

Loving the storyline, excellent work

Reviewer: Clarity Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/07/18 10:29 pm Title: Chapter 1

I read this one on FM and I really enjoyed it. The concept is novel, the characterization is strong, and the bittersweet ending made me tear up. I wish it could have been a cheerier story, or that there could have been a more happy resolution to the night-prowling tendency, but I understand that not all stories can light and jolly.

I love the Twist universe, and you treated it well. Great job, shandles!

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/07/18 01:25 pm Title: Chapter 9

I’m hoping Wanda becomes a real close friend to both! Well written.

Reviewer: Griffin Signed Report
Date: 01/07/18 01:31 am Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for the reply.

Being within the mystery of life and all,
it is rather open for some merry guesswork...

I was figuring that it might have put further transformations temporarily on hold.

Diana may like that but I don't think Jamie would...
especially if he woke up out of shape having to change diapers!

😳

Anyway,
I do appreciate your scenarios and how you explore them-
it's hard to find truly creative writing in ANY genre-
mostly it's just pop tropes being re-hashed everywhere...

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: That is an interesting possibility. Then, supposing Diana gives birth during daylight hours, she might change into Jamie at sunset... and until/unless Diana has another baby and gives birth at night, they would reverse their situations. But it doesn't happen in the scope of this story.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/06/18 11:49 pm Title: Chapter 8

Well written,a very enjoyable read

Reviewer: Griffin Signed Report
Date: 01/05/18 08:31 pm Title: Chapter 1

Just curious-
are you going to explain what would happen if or when Diana gets pregnant?

I know she expresses no interest in being intimate with anyone but I was curious how that would effect her transformational cycle and pregnancy.

I did read what the other commentator that you posted this previously on bigcloset but I just thought that I'd ask in case you might want to make any other comment on this.

I do appreciate your creativity-
your stories express&explore some fascinating concepts!

Author's Response: I don't know, and since Diana doesn't get pregnant in the course of the story (I don't think that's much of a spoiler), neither does anyone in the world of the story either. If I had to guess, I would say that when Diana changes back to Jamie, her womb be unaffected while the rest of them changes back and forth.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/04/18 11:33 pm Title: Chapter 6

Well written!

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/03/18 04:01 pm Title: Chapter 5

Nice one

Reviewer: 930310 Signed starstarstar Report
Date: 01/02/18 08:27 pm Title: Chapter 4

The concept is interesting but it's a bit dull that the two will only live half lives. It'd make the story more interesting if you gave us more from the male side because right now Jamie is becoming the antagonist.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/02/18 03:24 pm Title: Chapter 4

Moving along nicely!

Reviewer: Sunset Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/02/18 12:51 am Title: Chapter 1

I read this when it was posted at BigCloset back in the day, and I really enjoyed it. To all the people who are reading it for the first time: you're in for a treat.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/01/18 11:14 am Title: Chapter 3

I’m enjoying the read,it reminds me of a movie Dr Jekyll and sister Hyde!

Author's Response: As it happens, the novel I'm currently working on is a sort of sequel to "Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde", though not about the same characters. I'm telling it from both points of view, since the male and female main characters share memories though they have different personalities.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/31/17 10:58 pm Title: Chapter 2

Very interesting storyline,I’m enjoying the read!

Reviewer: storylovinggamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/31/17 05:41 pm Title: Chapter 2

awesome

Reviewer: Griffin Signed Report
Date: 12/31/17 12:32 am Title: Chapter 1

"Night and Day"
By Gerry Rafferty

https://youtu.be/aAJ2b5xExRQ

Beautiful song,
excellent imagery...

Thanks for posting!

Reviewer: 930310 Signed Report
Date: 12/30/17 06:10 am Title: Chapter 1

Sucks go be him/her...

Reviewer: storylovinggamer Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/30/17 04:00 am Title: Chapter 1

Is it going to get better for him/her?

Author's Response: As with all the Twisted stories, the Twist won't be undone, but the main characters will find ways to live with it and work around it.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.