Reviews For A Woman's Life
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: 930310 Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/19/15 04:51 pm Title: Chapter 5

A touching story about one woman's struggle to keep her identity and how she risks everything to remain the way she is. It is a lovely piece of work and there isn't much I can object upon. One thing that I do wonder about is what would have happened if she took the gender reversal treatment, let the tumour die due to lack of female hormones and then again underwent the therapy?

Reviewer: Jinxd Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 07/02/14 06:17 pm Title: Chapter 5

It was a nice story, well written and emotional, but I disagreed with the idea of her being brave for opting for the surgery instead of gender reversal. I felt she was a coward. The brave thing to do would have been to rebuild her life again as a man. There is nothing brave about being so afraid of change that you are willing to throw your life away completely.

Reviewer: NovaTGS Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/20/14 07:46 pm Title: Chapter 5

This story is amazing! The way you form your words is impossibly amazing, and you had me on the edge of my seat the whole time!

Reviewer: kandijayne Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/15/14 08:34 pm Title: Chapter 5

Wow, what can I say? This is the second story of yours that I've read this evening, and after this one there were a few drops of water in my eyes at the end. The characters you create feel like real people, and the way you write enables us to feel with the characters. In spite of the tribulations Colleen has suffered, this story is joyous. I'm not going to read any more of yours tonight as I don't want my (basic palette, unsubtle!) emotions wrung out any more. I'll save them for another time. But this is down as a definite favourite!Thank you for writing it!

Reviewer: GM Shephard Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/30/13 01:25 am Title: Chapter 5

Loved the story. Jolene, you my new friend, are a gifted writer taking TG fiction in a new direction, breaking from the tired old cliches, and story structures. You write like a professional novelist, or screen writer, delivering the right amount of drama, action and suspense at the perfect time. Bravo.

Author's Response: I'm very happy you enjoyed this story so much. I was going for poignant and it seems I hit it at least for one reviewer. I am fascinated by the idea of what a person would really do (or give up) in order to become female? Here, it is life itself. Another theme I like to explore is that living in a woman's skin 24/7 means getting older and having to deal with all the curves life tosses. Maybe being a perpetual 21 year old with perky b**** and a swinging sex life is all people would want -- but that is truly fantasy (and a limited one, at that). Thanks again for the kind words.

Reviewer: GM Shephard Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/30/13 01:14 am Title: Chapter 4

Bummer, I'm a teary eyed mess right now. I hope Colleen will make it now that her daughter knows who she once was.

Reviewer: GM Shephard Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/30/13 01:04 am Title: Chapter 3

I see we have a similar talent for creating drama, then leaving the readers on a cliff, hanging by their nails.

Reviewer: GM Shephard Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/30/13 12:56 am Title: Chapter 2

Wow, great descriptions, I'm so hooked.

Reviewer: GM Shephard Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 05/30/13 12:12 am Title: Chapter 1

I am really loving your work. I got a feeling this is going to be great.

Reviewer: Ecmarm Signed Report
Date: 07/17/12 01:15 am Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for this, and your other, stories. You are a very gifted writer. You imbue your characters with real humanity.

Thanks

Author's Response: Many thanks! I want my readers to FEEL what it would be like to be in that character's skin, and its often the unpleasant stuff that really puts things in perspective. The most beautiful women in the world have private lives that are far from perfect, and life is not a runway at a fashion show. "I put on lipstick and was pretty and everyone loved me, the end" is fine for wish fulfillment, but hardly makes for a good story. Conflict drives any story and it is how the characters handle conflict that defines them and their relate-ability to the reader. Keep reading!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.