Reviews For Soulflame
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/28/16 12:38 am Title: Epilogue

I purposely avoided this story because reading it when it's unfinished was giving me excess stress that was just bad for me at the time. Hey, look, it's all back as I read that last sentence. I just... gah. More. I need more. And here I hoped it wouldn't be a major cliffhanger

Author's Response: Ack! It's only a story. Please don't let it cause you stress. I'm glad it's that engaging though! The conclusion to this story arc is coming early next year, as soon as I hash out the final outline, and I'll let you on on a clue to ease any anxiety. The final scene here is less a tenuous cliffhanger than a mysterious plot twist. ;)

Reviewer: Selvanius Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/23/16 01:08 am Title: Chapter 23: Living Weapons

Dun dun DUUUN!! What will happen to Amber now? I wonder if she'll be manipulated or if you're just throwing us off track to surprise us! :D

Author's Response: Hmm, a red herring? Now would I really do something like that? :P

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 04/23/16 12:43 am Title: Chapter 23: Living Weapons

More. I demand more! More! Except no more. Just save the world already and stop setting up tragedy!

Author's Response: I'm working on it, but that's a pretty tall order. Just how do you expect them to accomplish that?

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 03/05/16 03:08 pm Title: Chapter 18: Breaking Point

Remember when I mentioned tragedies? Yeahhh...

Author's Response: Well they wouldn't be very good bad guys if they didn't cause a little mischief, right? :P

Reviewer: TmC Signed Report
Date: 02/20/16 03:45 am Title: Chapter 17: Earthborn

I've got the biggest smile on my face right now. That was awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's was nice to write too. :)

Reviewer: Selvanius Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 02/20/16 12:50 am Title: Chapter 17: Earthborn

Could've been more moving and dramatic but I still love it!

Author's Response: I intended to go a little deeper and add more drama, but honestly I couldn't think of other things to add and go into. I'm glad you still liked it.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 02/19/16 10:24 pm Title: Chapter 17: Earthborn

Sweet... it almost, almost took my mind off the fact that there's going to be a lot of pain and suffering for Amber in the future.

Author's Response: Oh no! Am I getting too predictible?

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 02/12/16 09:05 pm Title: Chapter 16: From the Ashes of a Goddess

And there's the plot... well, there goes my week. Time to think about what's going to happen next without stopping until the next chapter gets posted

Author's Response: Yup! I figured I'd setup the premise for part 2 right away. Plus, bad guy chapters are so much fun to write!

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/29/16 11:18 pm Title: Chapter 15: A Mother's Love

I'm really interested in seeing the characters finally interact and catch up... Courtney and Taylor, Atanasia and Amber, and more stuff along those lines. It seems that every time Amber returns to the Calvin house, part of her group doesn't make it out alive... she's 2 for 2 now, though I guess Taylor came back, kinda. Not really.

Complicated things, my fingers and thoughts are kind of all twisted up right now, but bottom line this is really good and I want to see more. There's so many threads and emotional conversations that are coming that it's making my head spin haha.

Author's Response: Heh, you forgot one of the biggest ones: Amber and Danna! :P Yeah, there will be some nice heart-to-hearts and some ruffled feathers, I imagine. I haven't written that chapter yet. I'm behind. One thing, I know: they won't have a whole lot of time for catching up. The Fellowship will have a new target that might surprise you. It's time for a few other characters to enter the spotlight. The dead make way for the living. ;)

Reviewer: TmC Signed Report
Date: 01/29/16 01:54 am Title: Prologue

Two brilliant chapters in a row. This story is just so much better with Amber around. Now there's Amber and her mini me. Twice the brilliance.

Author's Response: Thanks! She seems to be a fan fave. I like her too. ;)

Love the mini me comment!

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 01/22/16 03:56 am Title: Chapter 14: Into Darkness

So, Danna gets unlimited power and the ability to use everything from white to black mana while Amber gets... slavery. And, with the next chapter title, I also assume death. Awesome. But I like Amber so much more.... why do you do this? Don't make me wait yet another week for a heart-tearing cliffhanger again...

Author's Response: Oh come on, you should know by now I'm almost never that predictable. I can't say too much about the next chapter without spoiling it, but I will say Teijurzi's hold over Amber is not as solid as the archon would like to believe. And since when is death ever the end with the likes of Danna or Irkalla around? But perhaps I say too much. ;)

Reviewer: TmC Signed Report
Date: 01/22/16 03:28 am Title: Chapter 14: Into Darkness

This was so worth a cliffhanger. Smiling all the way through. For a moment there I thought you'd kill off Amber.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad it was worth the wait. I guess it's fairly evident by now I'm not afraid to kill off even my main characters. Exactly as it should be. ;)

Reviewer: TmC Signed Report
Date: 01/16/16 04:01 am Title: Chapter 13: From Here to Oblivion

Nooooo! Are you sure you're not an archon that is driven by Cliff hangers?

Author's Response: Oh no! You found out my secret! Yeah, I'm actually a very rare blurple archon in disguise. Don't tell anyone! ;)

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/16/16 02:27 am Title: Chapter 13: From Here to Oblivion

Well that certainly happened... All I can really say is that I want to see more because come on that cliffhanger isn't remotely fair. I did a bit of a double take at 'Crackhead' before realizing it was a codename, but since they're usually using last names it kind of was odd? One thing that stood out (and has been something I've been meaning to get to for a while) was the continuing usage of 'amber' as the main description for cross archons. Shouldn't there be more of a pronounced difference between yellow/orange, yellow/red, etc? Also any cross like red/blue would end up confusing the whole thing. I find comparing colors to natural objects helps sometimes, and things that would work here might include honey or dried leaves. Just a thought.

About the notification you got: I made a review earlier because I was confused about Jornell's reappearance, but I missed a section in the previous chapter that explained it, so I went ahead and deleted that review.

Author's Response: Nope, not even remotely fair, but it was too sinister to resist as a writer. ;) Yeah, a few of the mercs have nicknames, like Crackhead and LC (stands for Loose Cannon), but I haven't had a good opportunity to really elaborate on that naturally. Maybe by not taking a moment to do that, it created a bigger disconnect. I originally used amber to describe Taylor's, and later Danna's, aura as a funky, cosmic coincidence between them and Amber's name (Amber even mentions that in HOC), but after so long maybe the sentiment needs to be retired. I'm just not sure how else to describe it after so long that will still make it strike home. I'll put some thought into it. Also, not all cross archons have equal amounts of opposing mana. Yellow/orange and yellow/red can both be the same color if the red has more yellow. I briefly thought about that, but it sounded clunky to write it out in the book. I like your suggestions for describing colors by using object rather than weird colors like mauve. I think mauve is a color, right? Haha!

Ah, OK. No worries on the deleted review. Just wanted to make sure I got back to you. :D Next chapter coming soon. I know how evil those cliffhangers can be.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 01/15/16 08:47 pm Title: Prologue

No, not that, I need to know what happens next to Amber!

Author's Response: Oh, I see! Yeah, I can do that. I'll just switch the chapters around for you.:D

Seriously, the aftermath of the shockwave in the house is next, so no worries.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 01/15/16 08:20 pm Title: Chapter 13: From Here to Oblivion

Nope. NOPENOPENOPENOPENOPENOPE. You can't stop it there. Next chapter tomorrow please. PLEASE. I need more, needmoreneedmoreneedmoreeee

Author's Response: Best. Reaction. Ever. Thanks! I'm working on getting it out soon. I think it's time to see what the Jahi monks are up to over in Egypt. :P

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 01/08/16 08:23 pm Title: Chapter 12: Thunderstruck

This wasn't enough! Next chapter please!

Author's Response: It's never enough, never enough,
Come on, Come on, Come on, Come on,
Too much is never enough,
Too much is never enough

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/01/16 05:17 pm Title: Chapter 11: The Calm before the Storm

So I'm a little torn. I really liked the first section (including the mention of Joey!) and I think these emotional scenes add a lot more weight to the action that follows. The comparison I sometimes make is how hollow action movies can feel at times with limited character development but gorgeous fights, chases, etc. when more long running content can make even small tensions or spats carry more impact. At the same time, I feel more than a little bit grossed out by the way Bryce is acting with Atanasia. Courtney made some pretty good points when she slugged him for it. On the other hand... you've demonstrated how mana can subtly twist people's natures over long periods of time so I suppose it works. I'll withhold any judgement though because I can only speculate where that plot thread is going. Anyways though, great as always, can't wait for more, etc etc.

Author's Response: Thanks, Miss Void! I'm glad the scenes make an impact. I feel my characters are the heart of my stories, so I want to give them their space to grow. I just need to find the right moments for that to happen. ;)

I can't really say where I'm going with Bryce and Atanasia. Partially because it's setting up a plot point, that I won't spoil, and partially because I'm still trying to sort out how I feel about it too, morally. Bryce has brains and good intentions, but it doesn't always mean he's right (hmm, sounds like someone else we know ;) ). But seriously, I really wonder how I would handle that situation, myself. Atanasia's nature is hardcoded, so she'll want it a certain way no matter what, but, yeah, it's pretty messed up - even if Bryce really cares for her. I guess it comes down to each person's moral structure. I put the Bryce/Courtney scene in because I see both sides of it.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/31/15 07:45 pm Title: Chapter 11: The Calm before the Storm

I like them, but I want to know what happens next... so conflicted. Anyhow, I'm eagerly waiting for my heart rate to go down and the next chapter to be posted...

Author's Response: Thanks! The fun stuff happens next, of course! :P

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/26/15 05:02 pm Title: Chapter 10: The Fury Within

I like the new name! And... well. When's the next chapter? That's all I can say.

Author's Response: Thanks! Next chapter soon. :D

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/26/15 01:19 pm Title: Chapter 10: The Fury Within

This chapter, had you left it with the first section, would have been heartbreaking. There's enough hope left here to overlook the outburst in the first section. I could say more but it'd be babbling incoherently about the subtle interactions between the main characters so I'll just wait for more.

PS: Congrats on your new pen name.

Author's Response: That would be just the sort if cliffhanger I'm known for, but would make for a rather short chapter. Actually, it was originally only the first 2 parts, then I added the third later.

P.s. Thanks!

Reviewer: Surtiep Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/26/15 06:30 am Title: Chapter 10: The Fury Within

I really hope that Amber ends up fusimg with Teijurzi & Taylor, becomes something like Danna. Can't wait for the coming chapters.

Author's Response: Looks like Taylor might have another opinion about that. ;) Next chapter will have a bit closer look at what Danna might be, though. Thanks for the comment. I'm glad you are enjoying the story!

Kara

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/21/15 01:48 pm Title: Chapter 9: Of Life and Death

So with this chapter, we have Amber, Keidon, Naila, Eric, Courtney, Danna, Anastasia, and Regan as viewpoint characters. Quite a bit of hopping around you're doing! And I don't doubt that you're not going to throw Sarah into the mix at some point as well. I will say though, after having spent most of the previous book and AithC inside Amber's head, it's an interesting change of pace to be mostly outside of her perspective. Really works with the whole way she's struggling with her rage as well.

Author's Response: Atanasia? I want to read that!
Here's the POV breakdown by word count as of chapter 12:
Bryce: 23%
Danna: 20%
Courtney: 16%
Regan: 14%
Keidon: 10%
Amber: 6%
Wu'laujan: 5%
Liam: 3%
Yerinae: 1%
Naila: 1%

Probably no more for Naila or Yerinae, but Amber and Odion are about to get a boost. You'll get an insight to Amber, and by extension, Taylor, very soon. But none for Sarah! That b**** has been naughty, so she'll have to redeem herself through her actions, instead of her thoughts, to get back in my good graces and get some scenes. ;)

One of these days, I'll run Whispers through the program to see that breakdown, too. No need for HoC, I guess. :P Thanks for the comment and the stars! I'm glad its working for the story!

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/20/15 03:48 pm Title: Chapter 9: Of Life and Death

I'm going to reread this again, this is certainly building towards an interesting reunion between Ambjurzi and her family...

Author's Response: Heh. Ambjurzi! I love it. She's gotta get a hold of her temper if she wants to make good with the fam. Tei tei might have something to say about that. ;)

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/13/15 02:52 pm Title: Chapter 8: Explosive Personalities

Ooh, I can't wait for when Wu’laujan tries to show Amber the light! It will be a glorious moment when she discovers her new power...

Author's Response: Heh, I'll show you mine if you show me yours. :P

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/13/15 04:24 am Title: Chapter 8: Explosive Personalities

I read this twice simply because I'm really excited to see where the story goes from here. You lied about the nega guns though. And between Emil and Kylie, I think there's more Balancers you haven't been telling us about.

PS: Emil better not die either >:C

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm excited, too! Hey, I only said the Army didn't have the nega-guns. I never said anything about Calvin or the house. ;) Yes, I keep adding characters into the mix with a few quirks to them. I have to keep this interesting. I guess I should probably add the Way of the Empty Spirit to the list of balancers, too. You're gonna see what they can really do, soon.

I love how you care for the minor characters, too. I'm not sure just what will happen yet when Emil blows, but it will have consequences.

Reviewer: Surtiep Signed Report
Date: 12/07/15 06:24 am Title: Chapter 7: Sacrifice

Just keeps getting better and better

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll try to keep it going. I have another surprise coming next.

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed Report
Date: 12/07/15 12:07 am Title: Chapter 7: Sacrifice

Well well, I was about to be extremely mad at you for doing this, but the twist at the end made it much more interesting. I'm just glad that nobody's stuck serving Visnau anymore, but its only a matter of time until he shows up again.

Author's Response: I was so, so, so tempted to end the chapter after the first scene, just for the cliffhanger, but alas, it didn't work with the book's structure. Lucky for you! :) Nope! Visnau's gone for good. The sword destroyed all his mana - and with it, his soul. Nothing left to reincarnate. Now Yerinae on the other hand is several times the orange archon he was. ;)

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/06/15 07:26 pm Title: Chapter 7: Sacrifice

You just skewed everything. Now I'm eager for the next chapter, and bound to reread this one again once or twice just to get it all and let it sink in

Author's Response: Yeah, this chapter could use a few reads to get everything. I did a few rewrites to make sure it was worded just right. The ramifications for the events of the past books and what's going on now are deeper than you realize. >_>

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed Report
Date: 12/06/15 03:57 am Title: Chapter 6: Planting the Seeds

Time for round 2? Amber better have a plan for those nega guns though, or Taylor will have to pull herself out of the void again . None of those acolytes better shoot Courtney this time or Teijurzi will go ballistic.

Considering what you showed with Regan, I think you're teasing some hope for Kylie, and perhaps Atanasia later down the line. The two of them have kind of similar situations. Plus, Taylor's skilled with shapeshifting and you did show Haverion create a body from pure mana too. Lots of stuff from earlier coming back. Now the real question on my mind is if Teijurzi consumes the other archons or simply burns them away... and whether she brainwashes more acolytes or frees them. Food for thought I suppose.

Author's Response: Hey! You stole a line from a future chapter! Hehe.

Wow! Your thoughts are soo close, but I have some secret ingredients that mix things up a bit. ;) Must. resist. urge. to. drop. hints. I don't want to chance spoiling too much, so I'll just say, one of the things you mentioned happens in the very next chapter, which is coming real soon! Good insight on remembering the past. The next chapter also makes it all relevant again, and then some.

By the way, the Army of Light does not have the nega-guns. Sarah does, and she's on the right side for now, but I will also say she has a hidden plan. That's not exactly news or out of character, though, right? :P

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 12/03/15 10:34 pm Title: Chapter 6: Planting the Seeds

I knew it. I knew deep down this would happen, but I didn't want it to... And I did end up thinking about this story all week long, hopefully this will satisfy me for longer than it took me to read it. Now I'm hoping Amber starts overcoming it, perhaps by resurrecting Taylor into a new body using her yellow mana...

Author's Response: You didn't think it was gonna be easy, did you? All great stories start with great conflict, but don't worry, this isn't the same story as the last book. Amber won't have her way and let this drag out too long. ;)

Oh, by the way, she doesn't have yellow mana right now, just red. It's why the hate is so strong. The reason for that will be explained in the very next chapter! And, yes, I do have plans for Taylor.

In fact, certain characters are already setting their plans for Amber and Taylor in motion next chapter, too. :D Next chapter in a few days!

Reviewer: Miss_Void Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/28/15 02:50 am Title: Chapter 5: First Blood

So, I spent most of today reading this story from the start. I'd rather have my thoughts be concise and wrapped up in one review, so consider this as applying to both the last two stories as well as this. Sorry if that's weird? Anyways

Your writing style is great. I can't point out any mechanical criticisms because I was pretty lost in the story. There were some slip ups like typos but nothing glaring or in need of correction. Your work is on par with professional writers, and I sincerely hope you get published some day.

Now for the worst. The first half of AitHC is pretty hard to read. It's pretty gratuitous and repulsive to me, but I kept reading and tried to skim through the worst of it, which is a testament to your writing chops. I hope you continue Amber Light at some point but I imagine it's not a priority at the moment. Apart from that, there are a lot of drastic tonal shifts and some mismanaged characters. You really hit your stride with WftV (also that acronym :p) which is more balanced, but also has a more diverse cast of characters and has some pretty good suspense. Not having huge time skips throughout helps with that I think. So far in this newest story, it's all been good.

With mechanical and structural questions out of the way, there are some overarching oversights regarding characters that frankly bugged me. Mostly to do with how alot of threads in the first novel got dropped completely in the second. Whatever happened to Joey? Why exactly is Courtney not on speaking terms with her family and why didn't Amber help? Where did the rest of Amber's friends go? How is Amber/Courtney's jobs going, especially since Amber loves teaching? Has she met any more people like Bryce through the school? Don't think I forgot about Rejahn and Reanna for that matter. If they're not the same person of course, because you've just been so subtle in the past (Taylor and Teijurzi). And if Kylie ends up dead or permanently harmed I am gonna be so fucking pissed!!

But most importantly: holy fuck, Kevin. Both of them. Kevin(s?). Kevin junior is practically a box with a name at this point; at no point has he ever really been characterized beyond "darling son". Even when Amber's at her darkest moments, she doesn't think of how she has to go back to him (or any of her other family members). How much does he know about his moms and how did he adjust to Courtney? What does he think about the tricked out basement or how his moms leave for long periods of time? How does it feel for him to have only vague memories and pictures of his dad (aside from his mom's sick motorcycle)? Did he ever know about Danna and how will he feel about her now? And as far as Kevin senior, how much is the Walker family in Amber's life? Did they accept Courtney? Does Amber still pray when she can for Kevin? She was deeply devoted to him but aside from some adjustments at the end of the first story, she seems to have adjusted shockingly well. I don't even think he's mentioned in WtfV

A lot of this is somewhat personal complaints, but at the same time I feel it's appropriate in a review because they are questions specifically about oversights in the story. If addressed, I feel there would be a lot added to the depth of the characters within the story, but I think at least part of the above will be addressed in this book. I seriously appreciate the toned down fetish content as well. It may not be getting you the same amount of hits or reviews as AithC but I think your writing is strong enough to stand on its own. I may also be a sucker for modern fantasy and well written yuri, but I've never hidden that fact. I'll be following the story from now on too. Hopefully the above wasn't too daunting for a single review. Thanks for your writing and I look forward to seeing what happens next.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for the awesome, detailed review! I love getting serious critiques and constructive comments. Iím really glad you like my writing and the story Ė so far. Thatís a lot of power reading to get through the whole thing. Welcome to the story! Iíll try to respond to most of your points and questions that wonít spoil the story.

All the chapters for all 3 parts of Amber Light are posted on Big Closet. I just didnít get to it here because the upload engine is a little cumbersome posting chapter after chapter 73 times. At some point, I will go back and heavily revise the first part of Amber Light to bring it more in line with the end. Iíll need that when I try for publishing. Itís rather obvious that my goals changed while writing AitHoC. It came about because my readers started asking questions about the magic, and because the Courtney characterÖ complicated things. She does that. In my first draft, she was only a minor character that showed up as Taylorís friend in two scenes, and the story ended with Amber going home after her baby was born, either with Kevin or getting changed back and dating Sarah. Instead, I found a way to come up with another 50 chapters or so, plus a trilogy sequel! :D

Now for some of your questions about dropped, curtailed storylines. Stories like Joey and Kevin Sr.ís family and friends, I just didnít find the right opportunities to expand. They would have been stories out of place. Joey still doesnít talk to her, not sure about Kevís fam, but friends do. Another consideration is that WftV, Mana Fire, and the upcoming 3rd book are very different than AitHoC and happen years after, so Iím treating them as a standalone trilogy with AitHoC as an origin story / prequel. Some of the older stuff doesnít quite fit. I did briefly address Amberís relationship with their old friends at the end of AitHoC, though.

As for Kevin Jr., I was looking to bring him into the story more later on so heís not just a forgotten child with no place, especially for people who didnít read AitHoC, but I donít really have a place for a 6 year-old boy in a human-archon covert war. Most of WftV was a dangerous international trek, and the Walker house has been an HQ for anti-archon missions in Mana Fire since their return, in which neither Liam, Amber, nor Courtney were present. Now that Courtney and Liam are back, I have the opportunity, but the rest of the book is a streamlined action-adventure tale. Iím debating whether to write Courtneyís promise to Danna to introduce them to her, or leave it out. Iím rocking and rolling with the main plot right now, so my muse is in a different mode. If I can find a way to make it help with character development and pacing, I might go back and add a filler chapter for that, but going to meet side characters that have no place in the plot might seem weird. Amberís detachment from them will be explained soon. In fact, thereís a place Iím looking to add a filler chapter, right now. That might work. Thanks for the idea!

Courtneyís family was a large overachieverís club that was not loving. She was regarded as the unmotivated black sheep / family screw up, though she has their genes, which is why she has so much natural talent for things. That and she needs it to keep up with the mana users. ;) I tried to hint at some of that in AitHoC by mentioning some of the problems she had with them. It came to a head when they pressed her to go to college and she didnít.

In Chapter 10 of WftV, I mentioned that Amber suspected a student of knowing about archons, but she hasnít been back yet, so weíll see. Since her unexplained absence, Iím not sure if Court still has a job! Haha. She works for herself in a one-woman company, so it doesnít really matter, though. I imagine she has a phone answering service that are scratching their heads, now. :P

Yes, Rejahn and Reanna are the same being, as heavily implied in the WftV prologue. Her day will come soon. Hint: sheís been active in WftV behind the scenes. ;) In fact, her reason for first coming to Earth will be explained very soon. Itís related to Visnau!

Iím glad someone remembers Kylie! Wuílaujan and her are practically the same person, now, and I hope I get the chance to explore how much of Kylie is in Wu. Iím not sure if they can be separated at this point, but possibly. Something similar happens soon, though, so maybe. ;)

The rest will be a part of Mana Fire or the 3rd book. I hope you like where it goes. Thanks for reading and for the review!

Reviewer: TmC Signed Report
Date: 11/26/15 03:52 am Title: Prologue

That chapter was great. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks! First Blood was really fun to write, and I got to show some new characters too! There's more where that came from. ;)

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/25/15 11:53 pm Title: Chapter 5: First Blood

Next chapter please! I must see the reunion! *Heart won't stop beating faster than when she's exercising* I won't be able to stop thinking of this chapter until the next one, I assure you. So much for trying to write myself.

Author's Response: I suppose now's not a good time to tell you that I'm going into the woods for a week. But don't worry, I'll come back out with a chapter ready to post! This chapter was packed with stuff, but the next 3 will turn the whole series on its head. Oops! I made it worse, didn't I? :P Anyway, I'm glad my work can capture your attention!

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/21/15 02:42 am Title: Prologue

So, I've been thinking about this more, and you know what I would love to see? If Danna was actually a consumnate light archon (which I kinda suspect) and Amber actually became a consumnate dark archon. They would be able to balance each other out and it would satisfy all my fangirlish desires

Author's Response: Wow! That would be quite a match-up! The ultimate mother-daughter team. It would be fun seeing them try to balance each other, too. You and Bryce think alike. ;)

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/19/15 02:50 am Title: Chapter 4: The Ties that Bind

Too exciting. Amber acted exactly like I hoped she would! And this chapter was strangely fulfilling... now to hope you don't go and ruin it with the next two or three

Author's Response: Cool! Glad you like where I'm going with her. Chances are, if you liked this one, you'll love the next one. ;) Things are going to get a bit heated, and it's time to introduce the story's title.

Reviewer: Selvanius Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/13/15 07:11 am Title: Prologue

This story shows a lot of promise! I can tell a lot of effort was used for editing and perfecting. I wonder where this will go!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I do put a bit of effort into editing. I'm glad you like it, and I'm pretty happy with where it goes so far. Thanks for the comment! I hope you like the rest.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/12/15 10:31 pm Title: Chapter 3: Almost Human

I'm reading this with a beating heart every update, yet I'm still waiting patiently for mention of Amber... I want her to fall and Courtney and her to reunite, to deal with it all together, yet you delay it to set up more of the story? It hurts... I'm too excited for my own good, and I have no idea what you're going to do when you do bring her back.

Author's Response: You know I like to keep you all guessing, but Amber's day is coming. Just a little more patience.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 11/07/15 06:13 am Title: Chapter 2: The Dragon and the Fox

It's painful. I wait a week and a half for this to update, and then you tease me with this?

Author's Response: Yes, I'm such a tease. :P But you'll see in time that this chapter reveals just as much.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 10/30/15 10:02 pm Title: Chapter 1: Dirty Deeds

YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY

Okay, that's out of my system. Somewhat. Kinda. I have the feeling I'll do it again once Amber falls. Oh, I can't wait to hear more of her. My heart's pounding so hard I fear my rib cage is going to get hurt. Next one tomorrow, please?

Author's Response: Ack! Don't hurt yourself! It will be a few chapters until I can get to Amber, but not nearly as long as in Whispers. I can promise you that when she falls, she'll make a splash! ;)

I wish I could post everday, but that's a bit much for my schedule. Chapters will probably come about once a week.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed Report
Date: 10/19/15 03:52 am Title: Prologue

I've been thinking of this story quite a bit recently. Looking forward to Amber's fall, imagining her falling somewhere in Asia, hoping she finds a wildcard or seven and constructs an entire outfit out of wildcard blood to try and hide the fact she's an archon. Also looking forward to that encounter between her and her family/friends...

You know, I'm just looking forward to this in general. I just hope this is the last one in the series that involves Amber. Go ahead, make more, but don't make them Amber. I don't want to worry for her more than I have in the past...

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for checking in! Actually, I'm working on the story as we speak! I have the first 4 chapters done, and I'll begin posting them when I have another 1 or 2 done. Cool idea for Amber. Now that she's an archon, or close to it, it would be scary surrounding herself with all those wild cards, but I like it. Maybe I'll use that idea somehow. I won't say how she appears, but I will say you won't have to wait nearly as long as the last book for her to enter the main story and meet the others.

I actually have the main Archon Saga planned as a trilogy for these characters, with Amber: ITHOC being a prequel to it. I can't say much about the 3rd and last book yet, but remember those night demons from the Void? Hehe. :P

Reviewer: Surtiep Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/28/15 03:04 am Title: Prologue

So, I spent the entire day reading this series and was never dissapointed. Cant wait for the next entry.

Author's Response: Wow! The whole series in one day? That's some impressive reading.I'm really glad you liked it. I just started writing new chapters of Mana Fire, so you can expect some updates, soon. I hope you like where the story goes.

Reviewer: Assburgers Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/14/15 07:58 am Title: Prologue

Will this story ever be updated. Your series is amazing, I hope you didnt quit!

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. Yes, the series will continue. I took a little break for RL stuff and finished an old story (CyberRealm), also posted here. I am back to writing Mana Fire now and hope to get the first chapter ready to post in a few weeks. Hope its worth the wait.

Reviewer: JohnSmith13 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 06/07/15 01:50 pm Title: Prologue

Excellent start,
I guess the spirit of Amber merged with Teijurzi. And your physical body is in the astral plane.
----------- ---
Check your email. I answered your questions.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, you are correct. Amber and Teijurzi are now merged together in the Astral Plane. I'll check out your email in a bit.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 05/31/15 01:39 am Title: Prologue

I've sat on this since you released it, thinking, and I figured it out. Amber has her work cut out for her. Oh, also those people down in mortal-realm, but they're not as important to me. Can't wait to see what happens! I'm kind of hoping Amber finds a way to ascend further... perhaps she turns out a consummate light archon too? No, that wouldn't make sense. Maybe a super rare consummate archon, not restricted to light or dark? That would be interesting... but if anything that's probably Danna, in all honesty. Maybe both?

Author's Response: "Amber has her work cut out for her." Heh, that's an understatement. :P Actually, you are pretty close to the truth in your guesses, though. Just not in the fine print, and that may make all the difference. ;) There are obviously some new major players coming in this one, and some existing players will not be what you probably thought before. I hope you will like it. If anything else, it should be a wild ride!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.