Reviews For Childhood's End*
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Natasa Jacobs Signed Report
Date: 03/16/19 05:43 pm Title: A New Friendship

Still weird

Reviewer: Natasa Jacobs Signed Report
Date: 03/16/19 05:30 pm Title: Moving Up and Moving On

Weird.

Reviewer: Natasa Jacobs Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/16/19 05:22 pm Title: The Hospital

Best choice, choosing to be a girl.

Reviewer: Natasa Jacobs Signed Report
Date: 03/16/19 04:10 pm Title: My Parent's Tale

Nice back story

Reviewer: Natasa Jacobs Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/16/19 03:57 pm Title: Prelude

I've commented on this story before, but never gave my review on each chapter. To me this was a sad chapter. I was bullied when I was a child as well. At least I didn't have a name like Liz did. I kind of wish bullys would be arrested.

Reviewer: Summer Rose Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/08/15 10:12 pm Title: Weekend Escape

I could see the Mom and daughter coming back and being friends to everyone.
By the way, how old is Chris now? I was getting the impression she was about 8 years in age. Are they hurrying her surgery due to her injuries, because she seems to be rather young yet for that to occur.

Author's Response: Chris is part of the medical team. She is about 34 at this point in the story. Elizabeth is the one (born Dick) I believe you are asking about. S/he is nearing 15 at the time of the SRS. Elizabeth's story is from her personal diary written in her twenties, after all the surgeries and physical healing have taken place, but she is still undergoing psychological counselling.

Reviewer: Summer Rose Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/08/15 10:07 pm Title: A New Friendship

Need a name fix here, first it is Jessica, and then it winds up being Janice. Either that or you need to add another girl to the new family mix. :-)

Author's Response: I'll double check this, it is possible I screwed up as this chapter was written about the time I first got my diagnosis of throat cancer and was trying to write between surgeries before I took some time off just to recuperate (and undergo intense (DAILY) radiation and chemo for three months).

Reviewer: Summer Rose Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 11/08/15 09:54 pm Title: Prelude

Interesting story. I can't really see 2nd graders being this vicious physically to another 7 yr old; although I am sure it could possibly happen. I can see the other children harassing and intimidating and being bullies due to Dick's last name, and him being called by his last name and then his first name by the teacher/s. Kids do have a very mean, vicious streak towards those who are different or perceived as being different regardless of whether they are or are not. I also believe this is a LEARNED action rather than an innate one from birth.
Am waiting to read the next chapters to see how it all plays out.

Author's Response: The bullies that did the most damage to Dick were not necessarily also second graders. When I was in the second grade (around 1962) I was severely beaten up by a gang of 4th and 5th graders for a couple of reasons... 1) they were terrorizing the younger kids to steal their lunch money, and would beat anyone that told on them, and 2) I was "different" a) I wore glasses and was smarter than most of the third and fourth grade but my parents wouldn't allow the school to advance me up a couple of grades. b) while I wasn't good at verbalizing it (feeling I really should have been a girl), it somehow was manifested in my mannerisms and behavior at school, because I got picked on for "throwing like a girl", "running like a girl", "talking like a girl", etc... But for some reason the school officials and my parents were blind to it.

Reviewer: Natasa Jessica Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/06/15 02:07 am Title: A New Friendship

continue with this story. its really good

Author's Response: New chapteris up

Reviewer: Robi Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/22/15 12:59 am Title: A New Friendship

When I read stories like this it gives me ideas and conflicts within myself.
If I had the money I would have surgery to be more of a girl starting with breast implants and a tad of facial reconstruction and then stop. Now here is the conflict. To go farther I need it chopped off.
But I am a chicken to make that decision now, in my past I would of gone all the way when I didn't know the chances I would be taking of things going wrong. Another conflict, I am more than willing to have a what I just mentioned. Either through an attack or from an accident that makes the decision for me its still going to hurt more than just having the surgery.
Anyway, Next chapter, Please.

Author's Response: Were it just that easy. Details of what is involved in the SRS will be coming in a future chapter. I had to take a break from writing due to RL intrusions over the holiday season. Hope to get more posted in Feb.

Reviewer: Natasa Jessica Signed Report
Date: 12/08/14 02:35 pm Title: A New Friendship

I like this story

Author's Response: Thanks for the encouragement. Had to take a break from writing due to RL intrusions over the holiday season. Hope to get more posted in Feb.

Reviewer: Viper61277 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 12/03/14 08:26 am Title: A New Friendship

This story is falling into place and it seems the
youngest person in the story has found out who
they like better

Author's Response: Thanks for the encouragement. Had to take a break from writing due to RL intrusions over the holiday season. Hope to get more posted in Feb.

Reviewer: TheMadPoet Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/16/14 05:28 am Title: Prelude

I'm very much enjoying this story! I'm not commonly attracted to stories like these, but this one is an exception. I like how you portray the characters and how you show how the relationships were built between them! The story has a bit of an odd flow in the beginning and is slightly difficult to follow, but as the story progresses, the flow improves dramatically. I feel like you have made bonds to your characters which helps make them more personable and lifelike! Enough rambling for me. I'll be waiting impatiently for the next chapter(s)!

The Mad Poet

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes sometimes it takes me a little bit to get the flow and the dynamics tuned just right. Most of the characters in most of my stories have a basis in real life as they are composites of real people I have known.

Reviewer: cynjen Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 09/28/14 08:02 pm Title: Prelude

This has the makings of a really great story. I eagerly await the next part of this adventure.

Author's Response: Thank you. I've almost got the next chapter ready. I'll have it posted later tonight.

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.