Reviews For Christine
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Holly Snow Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/26/20 08:41 am Title: EPILOGUE

This was simply the most tender and wonderful transitioning story I've ever read, thank you.

Reviewer: Brioni Signed Report
Date: 10/03/17 10:09 pm Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

The plot and flow of the story is very realistic and heartbreaking. I related to most of the flow of events, and in scenes I cried as I realized it could very well be my story.

There's a definite repeat of the tights scene, almost word for word, though very short. The rejection from peers, social services, and churches alike are very extreme, but points out that in this day it's a reality we still need to deal with.

It does become a nightmare to edit such a lengthy piece of prose, but I do believe even this work could have done with another careful edit, to eliminate some spelling errors and punctuation problems.

The narration is done beautifully, and I enjoyed reading the story.

I see two main benefits from this telling, the reality that all transgenders face from birth to the finality of their decision. Some are more lucky that others, but this story paints the realities very well. The second is that society has still not fully realised this struggle and sometimes refuses to come to terms with the reality of the situation, and a lot of transgenders suffer a great because of that, and eventually make the wrong decisions. Christine was saved the reality of her final decision by the timeous intervention of her caring father, who just in time realised that there're very little choices left.

You spoke of your work "My Life as Girl" but I can't seem to locate it!, then realised you're referring to Jamie's Story?

Reviewer: WaitingForYou Signed Report
Date: 10/08/15 02:46 am Title: EPILOGUE

such a beautiful story, this is the third time I've read it and I still cried.
even made me search and listen to the songs you wrote down they listened to in the story. made it felt more realistic and I could imagine Christine and Josh dancing in front of my eyes

would you ever be interested in revisiting these characters again ? I would love to read more about them one day.

Reviewer: oneanonly_kittykat Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/31/15 04:38 pm Title: EPILOGUE

This is one of the best stories i have read on this site

Reviewer: TheLovableLoser Signed Report
Date: 07/26/14 07:33 pm Title: EPILOGUE

this story was very beautiful.. Christine touched my heart

though I do think the epilogue chapter could have been another story on it's own. it would have been amazing to read another story to see how the characters are getting on

Reviewer: Joslyn Bloodrose Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/07/14 01:41 am Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

I am sorry I didn't notice the Rating box earlier in my other post so here is another and a bit shorter comment/review. This is so far my favorite and the best, realistic story I have read on here, I can actually relate to Christine in so many ways. My life hasn't been exactly like her's by far but the feelings she had at the different times and the way she reacted twards them, except feeling other's private parts numorous times I myself have had very similar feelings and emotions.
Thank you for such a great story I have found my top fave.

Reviewer: TranquilHell Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/27/14 04:06 am Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

Just finished it. Ah. Maze. Zing.

One question howver: what happens to lil ol grandma after thanksgiving? After that she was dropped entirely. Even though they are only mentioned there and sparingly afterwards,it seemed like something you could have expanded on there. If it was her first time standing up to the cheating abusive hunsband, that seems like a huge thing when grandparents split....

Reviewer: Baby princess Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/26/14 01:48 am Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

(comments on the entire story not just the chapter)

I really liked it. Some of it seemed realistic, just not some of the situations, in my view.

The biggest one for me was how there was so much teasing from the kids when in 4th grade? That teacher she hated because of that teacher's actions. I do not think the students would shifted that opinion that much. (The principle note should been the most damaging thing)

Josh helping in surgery I do not see happening.

The social service taking Christine away would have a deeper countersuite I suspect but that seemed to be flushed out more at the end to help Tony.

I do not think social services would have that kind of reaction. But there is still a lot of people that does not accept this sort of thing and it could be possible. Same goes for Mrs. Davis's note, you bet she could of been sued over that and the dad's reaction seemed to be fitting to be realistic. That so angry tone that you speak calmly I know too well, scary stuff.

The inner turmoil that Christine experienced of questioning gender and how much it impacts being treated was very realistic and prob the most important part of the story. confusion and trying to live up to the norms from not knowing of the possibility of really being the different gender really reminded me of myself.

I do think having their original church turning them away could be realistic, but not 5 or all of the churches in the neighborhood. Who knows though, some areas can still be intolerant.

Reviewer: Baby princess Signed Report
Date: 01/26/14 01:42 am Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

(are comments allowed for other posts?)
Very realistic. i am enjoying it very much. the bit about the tights gets repeated thoigh at the bottom of chapter 12.

Yeah that threw me off too.

Reviewer: TranquilHell Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/26/14 12:57 am Title: Chapter 1 The Cess Pool

Very realistic. i am enjoying it very much. the bit about the tights gets repeated thoigh at the bottom of chapter 12.

Reviewer: Person42 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/25/14 11:40 pm Title: EPILOGUE

This story. THIS STORY! Oh, my. I haven't read a story like this in a bit of time, and you had me hanging on EVERY SYLLABLE for the last 5 chapters. My feelings towards the characters changed (except for the grandfather) and I can't help but find this story wonderful. This is a longer review than I typically leave, but I can't get over this story. I'm glad I didn't take it all in one sitting, and can't wait to see another story written by you!

Reviewer: Portia Bennett Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/25/14 04:36 am Title: EPILOGUE

Definitely top rated..Very enjoyable, even if not realistic. That's quite alright.

Author's Response: Yeah I wasn't sure what category I should put it in. It's clearly not magical, or sci-fi... or any of the others. So the closest one I could find was Realistic Gender Change. I'm Glad You liked it =^.^=

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.