You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: I_Think Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 03/03/18 05:48 pm Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

Glad to see you're still around and merely swamped by having insufficient time to write! I think your writing is already fairly polished (at the very least, if you're picking and choosing only things you're satisfied with, then you've got a good sense for what works!) and even though you claim to have trouble with plot, I feel like your stories have never felt lacking in direction :)

For the current part of the current story:
- Personally I'm not big on "loss of will/identity/self-determination", but then again I think the way you present this sort of thing doesn't actually bother me when I see the conclusion. It's a fine line!
- Actual criticism: events in the latest chapter _do_ feel a tiny bit too contrived, and it does seem like there maybe should be a little bit more explanation (ideally not exposition, of course, just more... justification) for some of their actions. Then again there's magic involved, of course, so it's not really unreasonable... I suspect I'll just have to wait and see XD

Reviewer: BreeAnne Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 02/05/18 10:01 pm Title: The Plot Thickens!

I love it! Oh she's in such a mess of quick sand, can't wait to see what happens next.. thanks so much for making this so fun to read!

Reviewer: Faye Kistry Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/29/18 09:34 am Title: Chi-town

I’ve only just found this. A brilliant start! :-D

Author's Response: Ahhhh, thank you! Flattery will get you everywhere! Since I posted a bit more of this, I've actually been reading about the philosophy of genie wish strategy. It was my major stumbling block to thinking out what kind of story I'm actually telling. Still not there yet, but I'm closer.

Reviewer: MaxP Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 01/22/18 12:00 pm Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

Loving this story :) :) :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Griffin Signed Report
Date: 08/12/17 10:46 pm Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

Why don't you post more?

Post what you do have-
if life's decisions were like what you have said,
you'd die from apprehension.

So,
why don't you just post what you have and leave it a cliffhanger...
at least for awhile.

If you can only love or write without risk you will never really gain anything!

Author's Response: I don't post more because I'm busy elsewhere. This writing is pretty randomly driven - when I get an idea, I need to write it out. And there for a while I wrote a lot, and most of it was anonymous enough to post here, so I did. But ultimately, after writing the volume of about two or three full-scale books, I started to feel the need to work harder on plot and, you know, actual *craft*. Unfortunately, I also have a family to support and we're starting a new business at the same time, so there are lots of demands on my time, so I don't have the time to write the way I want to, and I'm tired and bored of half-assing it all the time. Result: major slowdown. Eventually the logjam will work its way out.

Reviewer: BlindingFire Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 04/01/16 06:31 pm Title: Knoxville

"There's more! And it won't be nearly a year before I post it, either. Probably.": posted august 2014

I'd laugh about that if I weren't already crying that it hasn't been updated in a year and a half :-/.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry, I suck.

Reviewer: TheTGMonster Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/11/14 12:47 am Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

Please post more! Like, next week!

Author's Response: ALL RIGHT FINE

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/07/14 10:06 am Title: Knoxville

Good chapter,I loving your story!

Reviewer: Person42 Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 08/07/14 03:27 am Title: Knoxville

Wow. Interesting story! I've honestly never read this kind of idea. Nobody combines advanced mathematics and mystical genies. It just doesn't happen. Hope to see this update relatively soon!

Author's Response: I've got about one more update of that size. Then I run out of story. I have only the vaguest conception of what I want to write. I'd love to read it, written by a professional. Kind of Chalkeresque, honestly. He'd do a great job with this one, especially with the potential loss of agency.

Reviewer: jordan0129 Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 02/06/14 08:54 pm Title: Brandi goes to school

I like it and hope that you post the rest please :-)

Author's Response: Finally I got the lead out. But be warned - I can only post what I've already written, which is about one more chapter this size.

Reviewer: Maryjane Signed Report
Date: 10/22/13 09:17 pm Title: Brandi goes to school

You got me, I want more, keep it coming!

Author's Response: Sorry. I don't follow instructions very well.

Reviewer: Maryjane Signed Report
Date: 10/22/13 09:02 pm Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

It's a really interesting story so far.

Reviewer: I_Think Signed starstarstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/14/13 02:12 am Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

You keep crafting your stories so carefully that everything feels fresh even when I intellectually think (much later) that they contain motifs that I've seen before! Now I feel like re-reading all of your stories with a full eye to the craft rather than just gobbling up each story :)

Author's Response: Come back, I_Think! Your enthusiasm makes the darkest of days seem sunny!

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarstar Report
Date: 10/13/13 02:34 pm Title: Brandi goes to school

Just love where u r going,great set up!

Author's Response: Ha, ha, ha! You have no idea where I'm going! Mostly because I don't either. Next chapter is where it starts to get ... a-complicated.

Reviewer: Roadbandit Signed starstarstarhalf-star Report
Date: 10/08/13 08:43 pm Title: My lifelong search had come to an end.

Liked it so far!

Author's Response: Thanks! Let's see if I can think of a way to end it. At about 2000 words a chapter, I've got seven chapters' worth written, of which I've now posted two. Anyway, thanks for the encouragement!

You must login (register) to review.
TG Storytime uses the eFiction engine and Vanilla discussions. Design by J6P.